Hot Pepper Sauce - A Trinidadian Staple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very easy very good very HOT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very easy to make! Had great flavor and a good lingering heat. It would be great with a piece of grilled white fish. I used frozen mango chunks and omitted the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
When I submitted this recipe it somehow was changed..only 4 TABLESPOONS of dry mustard is the correct proportion...NOT a quarter of a cup!!!!......hope this is helpful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this Pepper Sauce today, and I must say...it is the hottest I've ever had! But here's the difference...it also has a lot of flavor. Some people like just heat; but if there's no flavor, then it's no different than a mouthful of fire. I didn't change anything at all since it was my first time making it. But maybe next time I will use just 10 habaneros so some of my friends will be able to eat it without bursting into flames! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I have little experience with hot sauces, but I saw this and wanted to make it for my hubby who loves anything hot. However, I took someone else's suggestion to only use 10 peppers. I was, at first, disappointed because I tried it and could tolerate it (I'm a bit wimpy). The taste was wonderful, but there was only a little heat. Then it hit me. Wow! This stuff is fantastic! I love it and it was a huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I love hot sauce and made this one. It is one of my favorites if not the number one! I've tried alot of different hot sauces and this one has the best flavor as well as having a great kick. The freshness of the lime and onions lend tremendous flavor and the curry sets it apart from most other hot sauces. LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I am making this sauce again today for the second time in 5 months. My husband loves it! So does my son and I. It is amazing made like buffalo wing sauce. Melt a stick of butter with a cup or so of sauce and simmer. It tones down the heat a little, which is not said as a good or bad thing because obviously people who make this sauce LOVE hot food, it's just simply a fact. It just happens to be that it is an amazing combination warmed with butter, and is fantastic on crispy wings or as a dipping sauce for tenders or grilled chicken (or pork). Trust me, try it. Use as much butter or sauce to your liking-you can't go wrong. Also, this stuff is amazing straight up on mac and cheese! Wow! We are addicted to that combo. Definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This sauce is easy to make, just follow the directions. The only thing I did, differently was to blanch the peppers in a half cup of vinegar first, then I continued with the recipe. My family loves hot sauce, and they love that this sauce makes you sit up and notice the food! It has the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Wow, I feel just like the other reviewers, great taste/flavor to go with the heat. My husband likes the hot sauce in the family and I usually stay away, as most are just fire in your mouth. I made this and it was accepted by everyone. I did not use Habaneros, I have a garden and tons of hot peppers ( 5 or 6 kinds) and was running out of things to do with them - this was fantastic. I really think the Mango and green onion does something for these hot peppers, we have had it on chicken, fried pork chops, with chips, I made a curry meal and we ate it with that. My husband took it to work for others to try, it is gone and I am ready to go and pick some more peppers. You will not be unhappy. Thanks for a great receipe. NOTE: I tried to make this and process it in a pressure cooker like I do other things, it did not taste the same, it was not bad when we opened the jars, but it seemed to be fermenting - tiny bubble inside, not sure why, or what was reacting with what - but it altered the taste, much better fresh - will try freezing some next time I make a batch and see how that does. WE REALLY LIKE THIS SAUCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made this for a friend who wants a HOT sauce with LOTS of flavor. She went NUTS over this and this is now her favorite! It's awesome over fried chicken or added to almost anything! The different flavors of the curry, mustard and lime truly enhance the habanero peppers and create an amazing balance. I had 45 peppers so I doubled the recipe plus the extra peppers, but still only used 1 1/2 cups of the vinegar to bring out the lime taste more. WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States