Hot Pepper Sauce - A Trinidadian Staple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I substituted ghost chiles for the habaneros, and I substituted berbere for the curry. I also used a vidalia onion and a peach instead of the mango. It turned out really well, and it made a large enough batch to share with some friends. Those friends have been hounding me for more of this stuff even since I made it. We ended up putting it on just about everything we ate, and we found ourselves inventing excuses to eat something that could be dipped in this sauce/salsa. It was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Awesome! Exactly the flavor I was looking for. The only thing I changed was that I added 5 more Habanero peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Have been looking for something this spicy for a long time. Great with just about anything.I like to dip sourdough bread in it and really enjoy the flavor. Also on a hamburg instead of relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Fan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Definitely going into my file of favorites. My favorite recipes are the forgiving ones, like this. You can vary many of the ingredients and still come up with an outstanding sauce. I personally prefer the flavor of the Thai hot peppers in my garden to the much hotter habanero, and the sauce works fine with them. You can also choose just how hot to make your sauce by how many and what type of peppers to add. I also went heavier on the mango and the jamaican curry powder and the lime, and a little lighter on the mustard and the vinegar. It is better if you have the fresh green onions to add to the regular onions, but it is a subtle improvement that many people would not detect. The best hot sauces are from the Caribbean basin and this is one of the best of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is an awesome recipe, I put it on everything. I'm just wondering how long I can store it for in the fridge?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
So easy and a great way to use up the last hot peppers of the season. Very flavorful and hot! I keep in the fridge and put on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This is the BEST! I modify it slightly, 10 peppers with the seeds removed, and I add about an inch of ginger root. The mustard I go a little light on, but close to 1/4 cup (which, by the way is the equivalent of 4 Tablespoons). Oh, and Tumeric. It is good for you, and heightens the color. I have given jars to a bunch of friends, and they all rave about it, even the people who are somewhat pepper wimps. One friend hates curry, so I poured some out before adding it and she has been playing around with different spices, so far likes cumin the most. The best thing is how easy it is to whip up. I am so glad I stumbled onto this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This recipe is excellent with some changes. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of mustard powder, I didn't have limes so I used about 1/4 cup of lemon juice, I also used a 16 oz can of sliced mangos drained and rinsed. I used 12 habanero peppers. Everything else was the same as the recipe. Great taste and flavor and will be making this for years to come. Try this recipe and you won't be disappointed. Definitely do not use 1/4 cup of mustard powder, that is just silly or wrong!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I love hot sauce and made this one. It is one of my favorites if not the number one! I've tried alot of different hot sauces and this one has the best flavor as well as having a great kick. The freshness of the lime and onions lend tremendous flavor and the curry sets it apart from most other hot sauces. LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
When I submitted this recipe it somehow was changed..only 4 TABLESPOONS of dry mustard is the correct proportion...NOT a quarter of a cup!!!!......hope this is helpful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States