Hot Pepper Sauce - A Trinidadian Staple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Good as a marinade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I plan to make this this year. I'm growing several kinds of peppers but plan to use my Aji Peppers (50,000 scovilles) for a double batch and then use my sweet ones plus ajis again for a second batch. Rememebr the purpose of hot peppers is to enhance the flavor not burn your mouth, so play with the varieties! A recipe like this is more of a blueprint that you can modify
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinoahater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I always buy hot sauce but didn't have any and my food was ready waiting....,I stumbled on this recipe though didn't have all the ingredients, I used: 3 x garlic, two thirds of a white onion, 4 x scotch bonnet peppers, teaspoon curry powder, salt and apple cider vinegar, forgot to add the oil, didn't have limes etc. I didn't like the colour (my peppers were yellow and lime green, so added a big squeeze of tomato puree. I took the vinegar harshness away with a little bit of brown sugar. It took less than 5 minutes to make and it is deeeelicious, blew my head off with the heat and flavour. Amazing! thank you! I look forward to following the recipe properly next time, the ingredients are on my shopping list. Though, not sure I need to add the oil - is it necessary?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
OMG This is so good. I was completely intimidated by the amount of habeneros, but it really is tasty. It of course hot but you can mellow it out if you need to. I used equal amounts of butter and a dollop of honey (I hate sweet wings) and it was tremendous but I did also dip the wings in the sauce straight up. I added 2 carrots and used about 10 homegrown habeneroes. I used 2 TBSP of mustard because of what others have said. This is such a different taste for wings, I haven't been so inspired for wings in a LONG time. I did make this outside and used all the safety instructions per earlier reviews (thank you). I did remove seeds and membranes as I didn't want my intestinal tract to revolt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I made this tonight, and it is amazing! Not for the faint of heart. Don't kid yourself, now matter how few habanero peppers you use, it's going to have serious heat. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I substituted ghost chiles for the habaneros, and I substituted berbere for the curry. I also used a vidalia onion and a peach instead of the mango. It turned out really well, and it made a large enough batch to share with some friends. Those friends have been hounding me for more of this stuff even since I made it. We ended up putting it on just about everything we ate, and we found ourselves inventing excuses to eat something that could be dipped in this sauce/salsa. It was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Hutcherson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Awesome! Exactly the flavor I was looking for. The only thing I changed was that I added 5 more Habanero peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Have been looking for something this spicy for a long time. Great with just about anything.I like to dip sourdough bread in it and really enjoy the flavor. Also on a hamburg instead of relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Fan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Definitely going into my file of favorites. My favorite recipes are the forgiving ones, like this. You can vary many of the ingredients and still come up with an outstanding sauce. I personally prefer the flavor of the Thai hot peppers in my garden to the much hotter habanero, and the sauce works fine with them. You can also choose just how hot to make your sauce by how many and what type of peppers to add. I also went heavier on the mango and the jamaican curry powder and the lime, and a little lighter on the mustard and the vinegar. It is better if you have the fresh green onions to add to the regular onions, but it is a subtle improvement that many people would not detect. The best hot sauces are from the Caribbean basin and this is one of the best of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is an awesome recipe, I put it on everything. I'm just wondering how long I can store it for in the fridge?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Quick Pickled Pepper Onion Relish

See how to make a relish with pickled peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States