Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My rating is based upon the potential, not the original recipe. As written, it is VERY mild. Good, but mild. I had to change the amounts of hot peppers to get it to be hot. I kept the base 5 cups the same. With that being said, once I figured out how much hot peppers I needed to make it as hot as I wanted it, it turned out DELICIOUS! My husband, my brother, and myself are addicted to it! We have been putting it on pork chops, ribs, chicken wings (we are from buffalo...lol), sandwiches, etc. As far as setting, I doubled the amount of pectin and got a hard set. I prefer a more thick sauce set, so the next batch will only have about 4 tbsp of pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gskatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is addicting on cream cheese with crackers! The recipe worked perfectly for me, yielding a jelly that is slightly softer than common jelly recipes, but to put over the cheese, you won't want it any more jelled. Try it, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Just made this yesterday, and it was my first ever attempt at canning or making jelly and it turned out great. I used a variety of hot peppers from my garden, anchos, anaheims, jalapenos and 4 habeneros. I even added 2t of ceyenne pepper flakes for some added spice. I didn't add any sweet peppers at all. I used pomonas pectin, and it jelled up perfectly, it's actually a little too firm once it's been in the fridge. Of course I had to figure out how my pectin to add since it doesn't work exactly the same as other pectins. I also probably should have reduced the amount of sugar since not as much is needed with pomonas, and I would have liked the jelly to be spicier. I'll try it again with more habeneros and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I LOVE this recipe - I have been using it for years now - so many people want it - I can't keep up with the demand! I have tweeked it for myself - love using more red peppers in the miix - makes for a really pretty jelly color - also use orange Habenero peppers and and orange banana peppers - have changed the ratio so that it is more spicy - also have drained the chopped peppers before cooking - too much liquid otherwise. You really can't go wrong with the flavor mix in this recipe - it is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
First of all, let me say that I really like this recipe and will be using it regularly during canning season. But now for the tweeking. After making several batches of this recipe, I've determined that for my tastes, 1/3 cup jalapenos and 1/3 cup banana peppers and the remainder an equal mix of red, green, and yellow bells is about right; and I'm a mild salsa kinda gal. I also added 1/2 tsp salt. As for the set/not set question, my experience is that using SureJell the recipe is perfect. Using a cheaper brand that I got on sale (Mrs. Wages. Yeah, I'd never heard of it either, but it was half the price.) I needed one box plus half an ounce to get a good set. Who knew there would be such a difference from one brand to another? I plan on giving some of mine as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Will teach me not to read the reviews, jelly not setting like it should. See how time treats it, but it should have set by now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Once combined with all the suggestions, this was outstanding! 1) Boiled for two minutes instead of the suggested one. 2) Kept the 5 cup limit of peppers, but used a mix of red and green bell, banana, jalapeno, and for a kick, one nalaga jokia! Had it on a bagel with cream cheese this morning and it was OUTSTANDING! The jelly was perfectly set, not too firm, not runny or "weeping." Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunchwacky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This jam turned out good for a first timer, but I thought it was way too sweet. Reading the other reviews, I doubled the amount of pectin (turned out a bit too much, next time I will use only a box and a half) and I tripled the Jalapeno's but still found it too mild. Next time I will for sure leave some pepper seeds in to liven it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Schatz
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was delicious. We used it as a topping for Chicken Flautas (also from this website). I modified the pepper ratios to suit our spicier taste. I used about 3 cups of jalapenos and 1 each of red & green bell peppers. Even after this modification, it was still sweet, I think I could have upped the jalapenos even further. I used 4 tbs pectin, and that was a very thick jelly. I think next time I will reduce to 3 tbs. I also used the inversion method to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I listened to the other reviewers. I used my food processor (which made it really easy), but then put in a mess drainer and pushed a lot of the liquid out. Then I took a handful and gave it another squeeze. Instead of vinegar, I used Riesling wine. I processed half and then trying in inverting method. Also, I'm wondering if people realize that a rolling boil, is not just a boil, but when you stir it, the liquid continues to boil. My consistency is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States