Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I LOVE this recipe - I have been using it for years now - so many people want it - I can't keep up with the demand! I have tweeked it for myself - love using more red peppers in the miix - makes for a really pretty jelly color - also use orange Habenero peppers and and orange banana peppers - have changed the ratio so that it is more spicy - also have drained the chopped peppers before cooking - too much liquid otherwise. You really can't go wrong with the flavor mix in this recipe - it is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
First of all, let me say that I really like this recipe and will be using it regularly during canning season. But now for the tweeking. After making several batches of this recipe, I've determined that for my tastes, 1/3 cup jalapenos and 1/3 cup banana peppers and the remainder an equal mix of red, green, and yellow bells is about right; and I'm a mild salsa kinda gal. I also added 1/2 tsp salt. As for the set/not set question, my experience is that using SureJell the recipe is perfect. Using a cheaper brand that I got on sale (Mrs. Wages. Yeah, I'd never heard of it either, but it was half the price.) I needed one box plus half an ounce to get a good set. Who knew there would be such a difference from one brand to another? I plan on giving some of mine as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Will teach me not to read the reviews, jelly not setting like it should. See how time treats it, but it should have set by now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Once combined with all the suggestions, this was outstanding! 1) Boiled for two minutes instead of the suggested one. 2) Kept the 5 cup limit of peppers, but used a mix of red and green bell, banana, jalapeno, and for a kick, one nalaga jokia! Had it on a bagel with cream cheese this morning and it was OUTSTANDING! The jelly was perfectly set, not too firm, not runny or "weeping." Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunchwacky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This jam turned out good for a first timer, but I thought it was way too sweet. Reading the other reviews, I doubled the amount of pectin (turned out a bit too much, next time I will use only a box and a half) and I tripled the Jalapeno's but still found it too mild. Next time I will for sure leave some pepper seeds in to liven it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was delicious. We used it as a topping for Chicken Flautas (also from this website). I modified the pepper ratios to suit our spicier taste. I used about 3 cups of jalapenos and 1 each of red & green bell peppers. Even after this modification, it was still sweet, I think I could have upped the jalapenos even further. I used 4 tbs pectin, and that was a very thick jelly. I think next time I will reduce to 3 tbs. I also used the inversion method to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I listened to the other reviewers. I used my food processor (which made it really easy), but then put in a mess drainer and pushed a lot of the liquid out. Then I took a handful and gave it another squeeze. Instead of vinegar, I used Riesling wine. I processed half and then trying in inverting method. Also, I'm wondering if people realize that a rolling boil, is not just a boil, but when you stir it, the liquid continues to boil. My consistency is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Awesome! After reading reviews, I used 4 tbsp of pectin instead of three (3 tbsp=1 box)... the scrapings are already set in the bottom of the pan. I used a different pepper combo, since I had habaneros in the garden. Added 1/2 tsp of allspice and a pinch of cloves and nutmeg to give it a caribbean flavor. SO good, this batch isn't going to last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
After reading all the reviews I was reluctant to make this jelly by the recipe but decided to try it and tweak it later as necessary. The only change to the original is that I used 2 1/2 cups jalapenos and 1 1/4 red/green bell. The jelly cooled to a soupy texture and I put the jars in my cabinet. 5 days later I took the jars out to see if I could "fix" the jelly and they were firmed perfectly. This jelly has a perfect combination of sweet and hot. Everyone who's tried it wants to take a jar home with them. Patience appears to be the key here but it's well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I've made this recipe three times now due to an overabundance of cowhorn and cayenne peppers in the garden, and its been great each time. I have had absolutely no issue with it no setting up...though the second batch did take almost 2 days to set. (I drained this batch so as to have a more clear jelly, though, so I figure this might have affected the set). I have cut the sugar by a bit over half each time, as I like my jelly hotter - and less sweet. TIP - if you want it to be hotter - leave in more seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States