Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Fantastic - just as written. Lovely - use different colored peppers. Served over cream cheese with triscuts - everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have NEVER made jelly in my life and no one has ever told me how to make it. I am happy with the way this came out. I reviewed all the comments made about this recipe. I made two batches of this. First time I followed the recipe as is. It was a bit running and didn't set as well as I had hoped. The taste was a bit bitter and very sweet for me. The second batch I made the following changes. I added a total of 3 onunces of the liquid pectin. I also got rid of the access water after chopping by placing into paper towels and aqueezing. The second boil with all ingredients I did 2 minutes. I decreased the amount of sugar to 4 1/2 cups. The vinegar I did 1/2 distilled vinegar and 1/2 cup lemon juice! I let set overnight and it turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
OK, here's the deal. I looked at all of the recipes but I'm commenting on this one because it's the only one I found that uses the 1.75oz box of pectin rather than the liquid pectin. My jelly turned out perfectly and has a kick. This is what I used: 1 cup finely chopped jalapenos. (I left seeds & membranes in about half of them and my jelly has a decent kick.) 2 cups finely chopped green bell peppers, drained the best you can - I used a colander and let them sit for about 5 minutes. (I caution against using red bell peppers because they can add an off-putting flowery flavor.) 1 cup of cider vinegar (yes, use cider, not white.) 5 cups of sugar and 1 box of pectin. The trick to perfect jelly is to follow the directions exactly. Bring it to a ROLLING (foamy, bubbling) boil and cook for exactly one minute. Do this and your jam will set up perfectly. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori likes to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is great! I have never made pepper jelly and I searched and searched. I decided on this one and I am so glad I did. My family likes things very hot, so I made a couple of changes. I used 1 cup of jalapenos, 1 cup of green pepper and 2 cups of red peppers. This way the total amount of peppers is the same. I didn't have any problems with it setting and it is beautiful in the jars. I used powdered pectin and I didn't have any setting up problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I followed others recommendation to increase pectin and it turned out too thick...next time I will use the recommended 1 box or maybe 1 1/2. Also, it was super sweet with very little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This recipe needs 3 boxes of pectin to set
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I used more hot pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Tried it and all went well, it jelled using 3 tbls of low/no sugar powdered pectin and taste was as I thought it might be. Only problem was the yield was only 3 pints. I followed the recipe, used habanero and cayenne so it has a nice "kick" but only 1/2 the yield. Any ideas what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was my first time making jelly so the suggestions in the reviews really helped. I seeded the peppers and cut into strips and used the food processor to finely chop peppers. I used 2 cups jalapeno peppers and 2 cups assorted peppers (yellow, orange and red banana peppers, red bell pepper and green pepper (not bell). I did drain chopped peppers before cooking them. I also boiled mixture for 2 minutes after adding vinegar, pectin and sugar. I used the inversion method to seal the jars so I will find out in the morning if they sealed properly. I hope the jelly sets up but even if it does not it tastes fabulous. I can't wait to share my hot pepper jelly with friends and family. They love my pepper relish. My recipe actually made nine 8 oz jelly jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Wonderful stuff. I had no problem with it setting up. Make sure you bring it to a FULL ROLLING BOIL before starting to count time. If you have never done jelly before, you may not know that isn't just when it starts bubbling, but when it is white and foamy on top. I also chopped my peppers by hand. I used mostly Hungarian wax peppers, and then used regular bell peppers to bring my total amount of peppers to 4 cups. Can't wait to get some bagels and cream cheese to eat with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States