Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Used 2 cups red peppers 1 cup green peppers and 1 cup mix of jalapeno and cayenne peppers drained. Left all the seeds from the hot peppers in and used 1 1/2 boxes pectin. For my 1st time I think it came out great not to hot it's sweet with a nice heat. This would go great with chineese food especially egg rolls. Can't wait to bring out a jar for the holidays. Thanks for an easy great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Mine did not jell..Next time I doubled the pectin and it was perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOe Peiffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I made this with only Cayenne, Poblano, and Jalapeño. Outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Fantastic - just as written. Lovely - use different colored peppers. Served over cream cheese with triscuts - everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have NEVER made jelly in my life and no one has ever told me how to make it. I am happy with the way this came out. I reviewed all the comments made about this recipe. I made two batches of this. First time I followed the recipe as is. It was a bit running and didn't set as well as I had hoped. The taste was a bit bitter and very sweet for me. The second batch I made the following changes. I added a total of 3 onunces of the liquid pectin. I also got rid of the access water after chopping by placing into paper towels and aqueezing. The second boil with all ingredients I did 2 minutes. I decreased the amount of sugar to 4 1/2 cups. The vinegar I did 1/2 distilled vinegar and 1/2 cup lemon juice! I let set overnight and it turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
OK, here's the deal. I looked at all of the recipes but I'm commenting on this one because it's the only one I found that uses the 1.75oz box of pectin rather than the liquid pectin. My jelly turned out perfectly and has a kick. This is what I used: 1 cup finely chopped jalapenos. (I left seeds & membranes in about half of them and my jelly has a decent kick.) 2 cups finely chopped green bell peppers, drained the best you can - I used a colander and let them sit for about 5 minutes. (I caution against using red bell peppers because they can add an off-putting flowery flavor.) 1 cup of cider vinegar (yes, use cider, not white.) 5 cups of sugar and 1 box of pectin. The trick to perfect jelly is to follow the directions exactly. Bring it to a ROLLING (foamy, bubbling) boil and cook for exactly one minute. Do this and your jam will set up perfectly. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori likes to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is great! I have never made pepper jelly and I searched and searched. I decided on this one and I am so glad I did. My family likes things very hot, so I made a couple of changes. I used 1 cup of jalapenos, 1 cup of green pepper and 2 cups of red peppers. This way the total amount of peppers is the same. I didn't have any problems with it setting and it is beautiful in the jars. I used powdered pectin and I didn't have any setting up problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I followed others recommendation to increase pectin and it turned out too thick...next time I will use the recommended 1 box or maybe 1 1/2. Also, it was super sweet with very little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This recipe needs 3 boxes of pectin to set
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I used more hot pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States