Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I made 4 batches of this jelly today, each varying the types of peppers and the degree of chopping (some processed in the food processor, some hand chopped). All four batches set up perfectly. I do love the flavor of the recipe's exact mixture of peppers, but it is not spicy. I made a recipe using 4 cups of jalepenos and it is spicier. I will use both!! One thing I wanted to note for those who are having difficulties with their jelly setting properly-- make sure to bring your mixture of peppers, vinegar and pectin to a good rolling boil (it still boils while stirred) before adding the sugar. After adding the sugar, return to a full rolling boil (this takes several minutes) and will be really frothy, bubbly as you stir it for exactly one minute longer. Then, remove from the heat immediately and fill your jars. I made over 100 jars of jam this week and this method did not fail!! Good luck-- enjoy your jelly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Making Pepper Jelly is extremely easy. If you look at this recipe it is basically 4 cups of finely chooped peppers. Any variety, your choice, combination of. I believe after reading other reviews the reason people are having difficulty with it setting up is that they are BLENDING the peppers in a blender instead of CHOPPING them FINELY. YOu do not have to strain the peppers if you follow the instructions and FINELY CHOP 4 cups of assorted peppers. RED/YELLOW/Green combinations make it really pretty. When using pour 1/2 pint jar of jelly over a softened brick of cream cheese that is on a pretty plate, serve with assorted crackers that do not have added flavors. ENJOY just DON'T blend the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Tried it, LOVED it!! People: CHECK YOUR PECTIN! If it is expired (out-of-date), Don't Use It.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I used 3oz. Liquid pectin and patted dry all peppers. I also used 1/2 C white vinegar and 1/2 C fresh lemon juice. As I wanted a spicier jelly I used 4 large jalapeño peppers, 2 Serrano peppers, and 1/2 sweet green pepper to measure 1 and 1/2 C green pepper mixture. I seeded only half the hot peppers and it was perfect for my family. I used the same amount of sugar and followed instructions for liquid pectin. Twice a success!! Made 6 half pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I followed some of the suggestions given here and used 4 tablespoons of pectin instead of 3 1/2. It still came out slightly runny. I opened one and put it in the fridge and it firmed up quite nice. I'm going to try it with the other jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I love it! I used 2 boxes of Pectin though, and it set just perfect. I kept it in the pressure cooker for 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Best served over cream cheese on crackers. We personally found this recipe to be a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
First jelly I have ever made and it turned out awesome. I read reviews before making so I doubled the sure-jell, I also used only hot peppers. We normally buy Reese's red pepper jelly bit this was sooooo much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This was perfect. Wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
YUM! I followed the recipe as written with the only changes being: 1. Used 1 package of pectin and boiled for 2 minutes. 2. After cutting all the peppers, I put them on paper towels to drain for almost 2 hours..changing the paper towels as needed. This really helped the jelly get the right consistancy. I'm already anticipating making another batch....THIS WONT LAST LONG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States