Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Flavor is 5 star but needs adjustments. Use Low Sugar pectic and it will set perfectly, just follow directions and let pectin set in pepper/vinegar mixture 5-10 minutes before cooking. I also adjusted pepper to be one cup green and 3 cups red/yellow/orange and have added more jalapenos in some batches to make it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this and turned out great. I used 2 packages of pectin after reading others comments and it made a nice jelly consistency. I also added in some red chili flakes. Loved it, will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this a week or two ago, and I have gotten great reviews from everyone I gave a jar to. The flavor was wonderful. I used low sugar pectin with this recipe, and it set beautifully within a few hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I adjusted this recipe, but only because I have a jalapeno plant that has produced a ton of peppers and I don't have any bell peppers in the house. I added 2 cups of jalapeno peppers (chucky cut) into the Cuisinart and finely chopped them. Then I followed the recipe as written. My jelly set up nice and thick and it is oh so hot. Just like we like it! But I will warn others to use this jelly sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made two batches of this jelly, using chili peppers instead of jalapeno peppers. First batch was runny, so added more pectin to the second batch along with more chili peppers. Taste is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
this is the 3rd year I have made this recipe. Thought it was just me who couldn't get it to set. I think the hot peppers react to the pectin differently. I just call it "runny jelly", and everybody loves it. I go half and half on the hot peppers vs bell. Only use red hot peppers (Cherry ) with red bells, and Jalapeños with green bells, and I give out a Christmas as the jars look festive. Mind you with going half and half, the jelly is very hot, we serve with cream cheese on a cracker, perfect appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYROY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe was amazing!!!!!! Love the flavor! I did take others suggestions as stated. 1.) I drained the peppers as I was cutting. I put them in a strainer until I had them all cut and were ready to go in the pan. 2.) I used 2 packets of pectin instead of just one. Adding it right at the beginning was crucial. Turned out great. Looking forward to using these as Christmas gifts, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is a very good jelly recipe! I would recommend it to anyone that likes a bit of KICK with their sweet! It is just a shade runnier than I anticipated, so may add more pectin next time. Doubled the batch and it worked just great! Job well done!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Loved it, wouldn't change a thing. Had a girl's night, we had wine and made pepper jelly to give as Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Shepard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 times now. My first time it didnt gel the way I had hoped. But in retrospect I may have not used enough pectin. I have used ball's no/low sugar pectin all three times. The last two times it jelled perfectly. The last two batches I used about 2-2 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 5. I have both used a food processor to chop the peppers and not, and prefer the food processor. You do need to make sure to drain the peppers. I am a big fan of chopping them up and freezing them, and taking them out when I have gotten enough to get the 4 cups needed for this receipe. The only thing I have noticed is that it is very pepper dense and not a lot of empty jelly (which is just fine for my consumers!). I also used the inversion method of canning this last recent time, and it worked great! I have found though that it does not make 6 jars though (but that may be do to my lack of sugar? Im not sure). I am also one to use whatever peppers I have lying around to get up to the 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States