Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made two batches of this jelly, using chili peppers instead of jalapeno peppers. First batch was runny, so added more pectin to the second batch along with more chili peppers. Taste is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
this is the 3rd year I have made this recipe. Thought it was just me who couldn't get it to set. I think the hot peppers react to the pectin differently. I just call it "runny jelly", and everybody loves it. I go half and half on the hot peppers vs bell. Only use red hot peppers (Cherry ) with red bells, and Jalapeños with green bells, and I give out a Christmas as the jars look festive. Mind you with going half and half, the jelly is very hot, we serve with cream cheese on a cracker, perfect appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYROY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe was amazing!!!!!! Love the flavor! I did take others suggestions as stated. 1.) I drained the peppers as I was cutting. I put them in a strainer until I had them all cut and were ready to go in the pan. 2.) I used 2 packets of pectin instead of just one. Adding it right at the beginning was crucial. Turned out great. Looking forward to using these as Christmas gifts, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is a very good jelly recipe! I would recommend it to anyone that likes a bit of KICK with their sweet! It is just a shade runnier than I anticipated, so may add more pectin next time. Doubled the batch and it worked just great! Job well done!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Loved it, wouldn't change a thing. Had a girl's night, we had wine and made pepper jelly to give as Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 times now. My first time it didnt gel the way I had hoped. But in retrospect I may have not used enough pectin. I have used ball's no/low sugar pectin all three times. The last two times it jelled perfectly. The last two batches I used about 2-2 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 5. I have both used a food processor to chop the peppers and not, and prefer the food processor. You do need to make sure to drain the peppers. I am a big fan of chopping them up and freezing them, and taking them out when I have gotten enough to get the 4 cups needed for this receipe. The only thing I have noticed is that it is very pepper dense and not a lot of empty jelly (which is just fine for my consumers!). I also used the inversion method of canning this last recent time, and it worked great! I have found though that it does not make 6 jars though (but that may be do to my lack of sugar? Im not sure). I am also one to use whatever peppers I have lying around to get up to the 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Yup, I too loved this recipe, as did many of my coworkers. I followed the other suggestions and used two packages of the 1.75oz powdered pectin and got a great gel consistency. Also, I drained the bell peppers after chopping them. My final adjustment was using super chills instead of jalapeños but really any hot pepper would probably be fantastic. Great recipe for a first time jelly-maker and canner like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have made this jelly at least 8 times. Everyone at home and work seems to love it. I have not had any problems with it setting. I think the problem might be the misconception of a rolling boil. A rolling boil is a boil that is so aggressive that it cannot be disrupted by stirring. I think if you make sure it continues to boil even after stirring you may be successful at making this jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucama, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Cooked up great. I did drain it and cook a extra minute like other reviews said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is a favourite of everyone who tries it and I grow a variety of peppers so I can put aside lots for gifts. I process it a little differently and get a perfect set every time and minimal floating of the peppers. I use a food processor to chop the peppers fine, let it sit for 5 minutes and then drain any liquid. I put the sugar, peppers and apple cider vinegar in a heavy pot at maximum heat and stir until it is to a full, foamy boil. I stir for an additional minute, remove from heat and then stir in the liquid pectin. I stir and skim foam for 5 or 6 minutes and then pour it into the jars. I use Certo liquid pectin. It has never failed me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States