Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Delicious recipe! I only wanted to make a little bit since it was my first time making it so I cut the recipe in half except for the pectin and it turned out excellent. I also used 4 Habanaro peppers instead of jalapeno's. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe. Not as hot as I think a pepper jelly should be or that I have had before. I gave these out to family and friends and they all enjoyed it. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I used two pectin packages as suggested and it set up beautifully. Also I doubled the hot peppers and used cayenne and super hot chilies instead of jalapeños. I added some red onion and a little garlic. Wow it's delicious and extremely hot! This was my first pepper jelly and I cant wait to try some different variations on my next batches...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I wish this had turned out! I read the other reviews and took the advice of adding 2 boxes of pectin but it still did not set. The peppers all floated to the top and it stayed runny. I had hoped that it would have turned out as it smelled delicious. Too bad :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a few years now and my friends have come to expect their jar come harvest time. I have had the same problems with the gel setting and will try the suggestions provided. As for the peppers floating to the top: I had read that you can tilt the jars while the jelly is setting (do not turn upside down). I simply tilt it on its base and roll around a little. This is only suggested after a 10 minute boil and with 4 or 8 oz jars. The method works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Like many suggested: Boil 2 minutes, use inversion, and drain the peppers and you shouldn't have problems with it setting. It set overnight for us. It's awesome. We used those fancy new jars from Ball and it'll be a perfect gift. Our variation: 2C Red (3 peppers), 1C Green (2 peppers), 2 hot red peppers, and 4 jalepenos. Made 7 8oz jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I followed the directions, and the suggested added pectin, drained pepper juice. etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Used a very similar recipe but had 6 1/2 cups sugar. Set up perfectly but the peppers did float to the top. When I opened them to serve I mixed the peppers and they stayed mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Enjoyed this recipe...had no problems with it jelling, but did have a problem with the majority of the peppers "floating" toward the surface, rather than being evenly dispersed throughout the jelly. anyone know why or any suggestions to correct this problem in future batches?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Very good and pretty. I too strained the peppers after they'd been chopped up (I food processed them) and used 2 pkg pectin (liquid). it's very pretty and has set up nicely. Good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States