Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a few years now and my friends have come to expect their jar come harvest time. I have had the same problems with the gel setting and will try the suggestions provided. As for the peppers floating to the top: I had read that you can tilt the jars while the jelly is setting (do not turn upside down). I simply tilt it on its base and roll around a little. This is only suggested after a 10 minute boil and with 4 or 8 oz jars. The method works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Like many suggested: Boil 2 minutes, use inversion, and drain the peppers and you shouldn't have problems with it setting. It set overnight for us. It's awesome. We used those fancy new jars from Ball and it'll be a perfect gift. Our variation: 2C Red (3 peppers), 1C Green (2 peppers), 2 hot red peppers, and 4 jalepenos. Made 7 8oz jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I followed the directions, and the suggested added pectin, drained pepper juice. etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Used a very similar recipe but had 6 1/2 cups sugar. Set up perfectly but the peppers did float to the top. When I opened them to serve I mixed the peppers and they stayed mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Enjoyed this recipe...had no problems with it jelling, but did have a problem with the majority of the peppers "floating" toward the surface, rather than being evenly dispersed throughout the jelly. anyone know why or any suggestions to correct this problem in future batches?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Very good and pretty. I too strained the peppers after they'd been chopped up (I food processed them) and used 2 pkg pectin (liquid). it's very pretty and has set up nicely. Good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
tastes good, unfortunately it never set up!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I have made this recipe 4 times, the 1st time it did not set up well, you need to drain the peppers well after they are chopped. Tastes great, I have been trying to get it hotter since I'm using peppers from the garden and my hot peppers are only mildly hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Divine! I used only green bell, yellow hungarian and jalapeno peppers (no red bells), since that is what we grew in our garden. Following other's suggestions, I drained the excess water from the peppers with cheesecloth before processing. I only used one packet of pectin and boiled for two minutes. These modifications created the perfect jelled consistency. I'm making my second batch right now! Thanks for the super recipe and great tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marshall, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is great tasting pepper jelly and I get raves with it. The only problem is it did not set up. Next time I will do as others have mentioned and use 2 packages of powdered pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States