Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is great! I too used 2 pkgs of pectin but wow it is better than what I purchased in the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Callander, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this with red bell peppers and hot carribean red peppers (seeded). I added an extra cup of sugar and 2 pkgs of sure gel and it turned out fabulous. Very hot, but wonderful and a beautiful bright red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreCoffeePlease

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I just made two batches. Each time I had some mild and some hotter peppers but I did increase the amount of total hot peppers to 3/4 cup and subtracted the amount from the total bell peppers. I added a half clove of minced garlic to each and to one batch I added about a tablespoon of freshly grated ginger. Both batches turned out great. I really like the ginger flavor as a change of pace. The loose gel is nice for using with soft cheeses as you don't have to spread it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Made this recipe with my mom and sister this summer. It has become a huge hit with my family and anytime we go to a party we are asked to bring our hot pepper jelly! We've also given this jelly as gifts to friends and family. This will be something we do together for years to come. We were very happy with the consistency and flavor of the jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is a great, simple jelly recipe. I used 2 pkg pectin based on reviews, but think 1 is likely fine assuming you cook the jelly long enough at each stage. To prevent fruit from floating in any jam/jelly, let it sit about 5-7 minutes after removing from heat. Stir regularly. This gives extra time to remove all foam as well. You will find you have evenly distribution. If your jars, lids, and rings are piping hot, as they should be, you'll have no problems with jars sealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Okay, after much research around the web, it seems that everyone has trouble with this setting, including me. I suspect that some peppers have an enzyme that keeps this from setting properly some of the time. Some peppers seem to be fine and it sets well, others won't set no matter how much pectin you use. So it's like roulette. But darn this is good! My son gobbled jar after jar of this stuff. If I could figure out what makes this NOT set, I'd have quarts full of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Oh my goodness. This recipe is sooo good! It is wonderful with cream cheese on crackers. It's hard to tell if it's sweet or spicy. But the combination is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
With the doubled pectin, this was exactly what I was hoping for. Although next time I'll add a bit more jalapenos to give it a bit more of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dr. p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I make it every holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Fabulous taste but glad I read the reviews! I used 3 cups red peppers & 1 cup cayenne plus 2 packages of the sure-jell pectin right away. Came out perfect! Although my next batch I may use even a little more cayenne. Even using a whole cup it had just a little bite but not what I'd call hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States