Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
made this for the first time! followed others reviews as I always do. I doubled the recipe (and the powdered pectin) so yes...four pkgs for a double batch! I also boiled for a min or two longer than stated! turned out PERFECT! and I am NOT an experienced canner at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cudda69
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Great recipe. I did listen to one reviewer who had said to use 2 packs pectin, which I did. Jelled beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I did have to add extra pectin but WOW it was worth making. Even my picky husband scraped the bottom of the jar. I will need to make extra for christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I have found that no matter what recipe you use for pepper jelly, you need to boil it down to make it set. I also would fill my jars & check them everyday to see if they were set....no such luck! Now I add 2 boxes of powdered pectin AND boil it down for about 45 minutes. It seems to be the only way to get it to set! Great taste, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Wonderful an Easy recipe. So good, everyone is always asking for another jar. I always use Low sugar pectin and it sets up oerfectly everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by budmoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I cut back the sugar to 4 cups and it was still sweet enough. In fact, when I make it again I'm gonna cut back another 1/2 cup of sugar and hope it doesn't affect the consistency. Also, after reading the reviews I squeezed the bell peppers to remove excess liquid. One box of pectin worked fine. Consistency was perfect and the taste rivaled that of the store bought product. Very, very happy w/the results. Am planning to make it again soon with different colored bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcella
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Delicious. I used all red peppers because they were a good buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Best pepper jelly recipe I've tried--everyone who gets this as a gift begs for more. I don't use any green peppers, except the jalapeno, and the mix of yellow, orange and red gives it a fabulous color. I invariably have to use two packages of pectin for it to set at the consistency I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deltaville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
More sweet than flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
love it!! i double it everytime!... the only change is a use all red peppers, no green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States