Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I always double the pectin and let it boil a bit longer to be on the safe side. This recipe is AWESOME!!!! Also, I use all kinds of peppers-whatever I pick from the garden-hot and spicey every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I paid attention to the previous reviewers' suggestions to drain the peppers & increase the boiling time, and it turned out great! I just used a combination of sweet red peppers and green & red jalapenos from our garden, and the result is delicious and very pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe but I am rating it only 4 stars. 1. I thought the taste was really good but there was no heat at all. Maybe it was my jalapenos but I would have liked some heat to it. 2. While it was not the fault of the recipe submitter I am afraid I listened to all the reviews that said to use 2 pkg of pectin instead of 1. I think it was to thick for my taste. Overall though really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
made this for the first time! followed others reviews as I always do. I doubled the recipe (and the powdered pectin) so yes...four pkgs for a double batch! I also boiled for a min or two longer than stated! turned out PERFECT! and I am NOT an experienced canner at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cudda69
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Great recipe. I did listen to one reviewer who had said to use 2 packs pectin, which I did. Jelled beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I did have to add extra pectin but WOW it was worth making. Even my picky husband scraped the bottom of the jar. I will need to make extra for christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I have found that no matter what recipe you use for pepper jelly, you need to boil it down to make it set. I also would fill my jars & check them everyday to see if they were set....no such luck! Now I add 2 boxes of powdered pectin AND boil it down for about 45 minutes. It seems to be the only way to get it to set! Great taste, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Wonderful an Easy recipe. So good, everyone is always asking for another jar. I always use Low sugar pectin and it sets up oerfectly everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by budmoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I cut back the sugar to 4 cups and it was still sweet enough. In fact, when I make it again I'm gonna cut back another 1/2 cup of sugar and hope it doesn't affect the consistency. Also, after reading the reviews I squeezed the bell peppers to remove excess liquid. One box of pectin worked fine. Consistency was perfect and the taste rivaled that of the store bought product. Very, very happy w/the results. Am planning to make it again soon with different colored bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcella
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Delicious. I used all red peppers because they were a good buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States