Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I normally read reviews on anything prior to trying them out, this one I didn't and now I'm wishing I had!! One of my first recipes to try for canning and well FAIL!! Just like the other reviews mine turned out runny. I will now have to go back to the store for more pectin and lids. Hoping that is all I will need to do as I don't want to have to throw out 16 jars. SUGGESTION: edit recipe so that others especially newbies don't have this same issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is ridiculous... Why did so many people give this good reviews??? The jelly has the consistency of snot. I made two batches and followed the directions to a T. Either the author of this recipe left out some very important info, or they're satisfied with serving jars of mucus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great recipe. I used 2-1.75 oz packs of jell and a full cup of jalapeños. Everything jelled and I almost got the heat I wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donny White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Wow awesome recipe!! It jelled up super nice! I was worried about it setting nice because of all the reviews. So when i boiled it i brought it to a full rolling boil that couldn't be stirred down then started timing. Make sure you are stirring the whole time! ( and I added 1/2 Tbsp of cherry jello powder to it when it started boiling) thanks for the recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent base recipe. I used 2 green bell peppers, 2 red bell peppers to make 4 cups total. I used 6 serrano and 3 jalapeno peppers to make 1 1/2 cups total. Also, it needs to have a box and 1/2 of Sure jell or 1 1/2 pks of liquid pectin We could not wait very long and my husband and I ate 1 jar in about 3 hours. Just yummy with cream cheese, chips or crackers. Such a quick appetizer for company too. It truly is addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was a really nice jelly. I read other reviews that said it did't jell, but mine did. I was soupy at first, but once it sits in the jar for 24 hours it has the perfect consistency. It wasn't as hot as I expected, next time I will add more jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
it could take up to 2 weeks for thethe jelly to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a fabulous recipe, it just needs one modification. Drain whatever combo of peppers you use, in a colander with a coffee filter overnite. This takes the excess moisture out and your jelly will jell! Whatever combo of peppers you choose the measurement must equal 4 cups of peppers, chopped, with or without seeds. So easy, it really is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this according to the directions and it turned out perfect. Set up within 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nina702
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I just made this jelly. Turned out beautiful. It was really easy. I chopped it all by hand, I prefer it over food processing. I did add the equivalent of 2 packs of pectin and added some hot sauce and 2 Thai Chilies, which I took out before I filled the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States