Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is a great recipe, but after making it twice, have found it either has a typo or needs a slight modification. Both times I have made this jelly as the recipe states, it has not set up properly, as others have noted as well. The first time I put it all back into a pan, added 1 more box of powdered pectin, cooked and processed again as stated. After that it set up fine and was absolutely delicious. I just made it again (as written) and am again having the problem with it not setting up. I will add more pectin and re-process as I did before and hope for the same results. For all first time users of this recipe...this is a fantastic flavored jelly...if you want it sauce consistancy follow the recipe as written. If you want jelly consistancy use 2 packets of pectin. And one word of warning...this stuff is addicting!!! I have also played with the type of peppers...substituting hotter peppers for or adding to the jalepenos. My latest batch is actually a 4 pepper jelly...Red, Green, Jalepeno and a touch of hablano...mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
847 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I made 3 batches of this recipe and found that I had 21 jars of jelly that did not set. Very runny and a little disappointing. Tastes good, but a bit vinegary. Is there a way to re-cook it with more pectin to make it more jelly-like? I'd appreciate some feedback to save these batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe is AWESOME! I read all of the reviews and used 3 of the suggestions: 1. I drained the peppers after chopping 2. I boiled 2 minutes instead of 1 and 3. I used the inversion method and it worked great but I had to run the jars under hot water to loosen them so they would settle into the bottom of the jar. I also used 2 cups of red bell peppers, 1 cup of green bell peppers and 1 cup of jalepenos. The jelly turned out GREAT (but could still be hotter for my taste) and it is the first jelly I have ever made. I used Sure-Jell fruit pectin if it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
THIS TASTED GREAT BUT JUST WILL NOT SET. I DRAINED THE PEPPERS AFTER I CHOPPED THEM. I'VE EVEN ADD MORE PECTIN,SUGAR, LEMON JUICE AND WATER AND BOILED IT FOR A SECOND TIME AND RESEALED. AND THEY WONT SET. ANY TIPS ON HOW TO FIX?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This was the best pepper jelly--I made it in 1 evening with great success. I took half of the peppers & half of the vinegar and put the mix into my blender, repeat with the remaining half. After the jars were filled I used the inversion method instead of the hot bath (just turn the jars upside down after filling with hot mixture for 3 hours)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Divine! I used only green bell, yellow hungarian and jalapeno peppers (no red bells), since that is what we grew in our garden. Following other's suggestions, I drained the excess water from the peppers with cheesecloth before processing. I only used one packet of pectin and boiled for two minutes. These modifications created the perfect jelled consistency. I'm making my second batch right now! Thanks for the super recipe and great tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marshall, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
The taste is wonderful but my jelly wouldn't jell, I followed the instructions carefully but alas it's more like syrup than jelly. If anyone knows how to "fix" this I would appreciate it as I have 6 more pints of it and I hesitate to throw it out. I will check here weekly. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I have probably made over 20 batches of this recipe and these are my recommendations. Use Sure-Jell pectin if you can, it keeps the peppers suspended throughout the jelly and sets very well. Also, cut the peppers by hand, not in a food process or chopper. Those methods create more liquid and the jelly may not set. Do not turn the jars as that may disrupt the jelling process. If you want it hotter, cut back on the red peppers (1/2 cup) and add more hot peppers-habenero, chili, serano, etc. Just make sure you have a total of 4 cups of chopped peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I read the other reveiwsabout it not setting up, and I should have listened. I have making jelly forever, this recipe is running, not even close to setting up. Very disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I love the recipe. With the red peppers included, the jelly is a pretty color for the upcoming holdidays. The taste is perfect for me. It is hot, but not "killer hot." The one problem I had was that the jelly did not set up well and was runny. After a few days it is still not firm but it is more solid than it was. I actually don't mind the fact that it is not solid as I will be using it on cream cheese as an appetizer. I tried the recipe with dry pectin and liquid pectin and had the same results. The jelly may firm up as time goes on. However, I will use the recipe again, because the taste is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States