Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Making Pepper Jelly is extremely easy. If you look at this recipe it is basically 4 cups of finely chooped peppers. Any variety, your choice, combination of. I believe after reading other reviews the reason people are having difficulty with it setting up is that they are BLENDING the peppers in a blender instead of CHOPPING them FINELY. YOu do not have to strain the peppers if you follow the instructions and FINELY CHOP 4 cups of assorted peppers. RED/YELLOW/Green combinations make it really pretty. When using pour 1/2 pint jar of jelly over a softened brick of cream cheese that is on a pretty plate, serve with assorted crackers that do not have added flavors. ENJOY just DON'T blend the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Tried it, LOVED it!! People: CHECK YOUR PECTIN! If it is expired (out-of-date), Don't Use It.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I used 3oz. Liquid pectin and patted dry all peppers. I also used 1/2 C white vinegar and 1/2 C fresh lemon juice. As I wanted a spicier jelly I used 4 large jalapeño peppers, 2 Serrano peppers, and 1/2 sweet green pepper to measure 1 and 1/2 C green pepper mixture. I seeded only half the hot peppers and it was perfect for my family. I used the same amount of sugar and followed instructions for liquid pectin. Twice a success!! Made 6 half pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I followed some of the suggestions given here and used 4 tablespoons of pectin instead of 3 1/2. It still came out slightly runny. I opened one and put it in the fridge and it firmed up quite nice. I'm going to try it with the other jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I love it! I used 2 boxes of Pectin though, and it set just perfect. I kept it in the pressure cooker for 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Best served over cream cheese on crackers. We personally found this recipe to be a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
First jelly I have ever made and it turned out awesome. I read reviews before making so I doubled the sure-jell, I also used only hot peppers. We normally buy Reese's red pepper jelly bit this was sooooo much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This was perfect. Wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
YUM! I followed the recipe as written with the only changes being: 1. Used 1 package of pectin and boiled for 2 minutes. 2. After cutting all the peppers, I put them on paper towels to drain for almost 2 hours..changing the paper towels as needed. This really helped the jelly get the right consistancy. I'm already anticipating making another batch....THIS WONT LAST LONG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
ok just made some more of this jelly..I used the recipe here combined with the surejell instructions for the liquid pectin, which is added at the end of the process as I stated before, jam is setting up fine.Hubby already digging in..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States