Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This recipe is Awesome. I've been using it for 3 years now and selling them at local farmer's markets. I do use 2 packs of pectin and use half a cup of jalapeno's instead of a fourth cup. I've made an all green and an red pepper version. The all red peppers makes a very pleasing looking jelly. People think I am using food coloring but I don't. At a half cup of jalapeno's per batch it's a medium-hot flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Boutte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This recipe was great. I am just a beginner at this and I added the sugar in the beginning instead of waiting for the vinegar, pectin and peppers to boil. The first batch is runny and I'm praying that it hardens as it cools. However, the 2nd batch I made I followed directions and it was much thicker. I DID add the 2 boxes of pectin as people suggested I agree that it needs it! Farmer's Market here I come! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I no longer do any canning so I cool the jelly, then spoon into baggies and freeze. I keep a clean jelly jar for refills. This works just fine and no harm to the jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Sweet AND hot. Delicious on cream cheese crackers and warm on egg rolls or pork. I have made this several times when the garden is overflowing. I have used various types of peppers depending on what I happen to have on hand, keeping close to the original 4 c. amount of peppers stated. Usually I end up with a bit more hot peppers (1/2 c. to 3/4 c.) because I like it that way. * I see many have complained about the set. I don't recall having any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The setting issue may be in the sequence of events. I boil the vinegar, peppers and sugar first, then add the pectin at the end. Boil 1 additional minute, stirring continuously, then fill jars. It set just fine for me doing it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I only gave it 4 stars because, as others noted, it did not set. Well when given lemons make lemonade came to mind. As a thick syrup it mixes easily with soft cream cheese for a great dip. I used it the other night on a pork loin. When it was a few minutes from being done I glazed it with the syrup and have received great feedback. I used serrano peppers due to the abundant production of my single plant. ready to put some more up as a syrup and then maybe add pectin and make some jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is so good. I gave some to a friend. She gave her son a jar. He has asked for a dozen more jars. I used 2 1/2 cups of peppers total. 1/2 cup jalapenos is mild but with good flavor. 1 cup jalapenos is about medium. I like the medium best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I used habanero peppers for this and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Dorothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe turns out with a sweeter flavor vs. spicy. I made another batch with "hotter" peppers and it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe indeed, I used all sweet red peppers instead of a mix since that is what my family asked for. Like the other reviewers suggested, I used two boxes of pectin instead of one. Also, after boiling the jelly hard for one min (while stirring) I always remove it from the heat and then stir constantly for 3-5 mins. I can't remember where I read this tip, but it cuts down on the "scum" and helps the jelly set up. I haven't had a problem yet, unless I make a rookie mistake and don't add enough sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Dart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States