Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Awesome! After reading reviews, I used 4 tbsp of pectin instead of three (3 tbsp=1 box)... the scrapings are already set in the bottom of the pan. I used a different pepper combo, since I had habaneros in the garden. Added 1/2 tsp of allspice and a pinch of cloves and nutmeg to give it a caribbean flavor. SO good, this batch isn't going to last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
After reading all the reviews I was reluctant to make this jelly by the recipe but decided to try it and tweak it later as necessary. The only change to the original is that I used 2 1/2 cups jalapenos and 1 1/4 red/green bell. The jelly cooled to a soupy texture and I put the jars in my cabinet. 5 days later I took the jars out to see if I could "fix" the jelly and they were firmed perfectly. This jelly has a perfect combination of sweet and hot. Everyone who's tried it wants to take a jar home with them. Patience appears to be the key here but it's well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I've made this recipe three times now due to an overabundance of cowhorn and cayenne peppers in the garden, and its been great each time. I have had absolutely no issue with it no setting up...though the second batch did take almost 2 days to set. (I drained this batch so as to have a more clear jelly, though, so I figure this might have affected the set). I have cut the sugar by a bit over half each time, as I like my jelly hotter - and less sweet. TIP - if you want it to be hotter - leave in more seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This recipe is Awesome. I've been using it for 3 years now and selling them at local farmer's markets. I do use 2 packs of pectin and use half a cup of jalapeno's instead of a fourth cup. I've made an all green and an red pepper version. The all red peppers makes a very pleasing looking jelly. People think I am using food coloring but I don't. At a half cup of jalapeno's per batch it's a medium-hot flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Boutte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This recipe was great. I am just a beginner at this and I added the sugar in the beginning instead of waiting for the vinegar, pectin and peppers to boil. The first batch is runny and I'm praying that it hardens as it cools. However, the 2nd batch I made I followed directions and it was much thicker. I DID add the 2 boxes of pectin as people suggested I agree that it needs it! Farmer's Market here I come! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I no longer do any canning so I cool the jelly, then spoon into baggies and freeze. I keep a clean jelly jar for refills. This works just fine and no harm to the jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Sweet AND hot. Delicious on cream cheese crackers and warm on egg rolls or pork. I have made this several times when the garden is overflowing. I have used various types of peppers depending on what I happen to have on hand, keeping close to the original 4 c. amount of peppers stated. Usually I end up with a bit more hot peppers (1/2 c. to 3/4 c.) because I like it that way. * I see many have complained about the set. I don't recall having any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kindle Cheney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The setting issue may be in the sequence of events. I boil the vinegar, peppers and sugar first, then add the pectin at the end. Boil 1 additional minute, stirring continuously, then fill jars. It set just fine for me doing it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I only gave it 4 stars because, as others noted, it did not set. Well when given lemons make lemonade came to mind. As a thick syrup it mixes easily with soft cream cheese for a great dip. I used it the other night on a pork loin. When it was a few minutes from being done I glazed it with the syrup and have received great feedback. I used serrano peppers due to the abundant production of my single plant. ready to put some more up as a syrup and then maybe add pectin and make some jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is so good. I gave some to a friend. She gave her son a jar. He has asked for a dozen more jars. I used 2 1/2 cups of peppers total. 1/2 cup jalapenos is mild but with good flavor. 1 cup jalapenos is about medium. I like the medium best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States