Hot Pepper Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
I've made this recipe quite a few times, and I've started adding about 3/4 of a can of chopped green chilis to the recipe. It adds a little bit of color and texture, and a little more 'kick' to the cheeseball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I, as did several other "taste testers" did not think this was hot at all. I even used a cheese called Fiery Fiesta (has habenero peppers in it!) and all we could taste was worcestershire sauce and I even backed off on it! I only used 1/2 t. of the worcestershire sauce. If I tried it again I think I'd eliminate the worcestershire sauce, use hot sauce instead and use 3c pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar and ex-sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
An excellent cheese ball. And I don't normally get excited over cheese balls. Don't let the name scare you. It won't set you on fire. Just great flavor. I always get requests for the recipe. I toast almonds, and chop them fine for the outer layer. Another alternative is toasted sesame seeds on the outside. I always do for a Thanksgiving app. Travels well and can do the day b4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
The best cheese ball ever! We love spicy so I add chopped jalepenos! Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by va mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
This cheese ball rocks! I made it for my husband's Christmas party and it was the first thing to go. I cut the Worchestshire sauce in half and added 1 tsp. horseradish. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Made this for my parents Christmas party and it was the first thing gone!! I used a pepper jack that used habanero pepper so after sitting the cheeseball does have a little more kick. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
The title is very misleading, as this is not a "Hot" cheese ball. I highly recommend using a mixer to mix everything and then add items to your taste. Per the other reviews, I reduced the Worcestershire to 1/2 Tbsp. I was out of garlic powder, so I added 1 tsp minced garlic. After many testings I ended up adding 1 tsp horseradish, 1/2 tsp Gator Hammock hot sauce, and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. For easier shaping, I shaped the cheese ball in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge so when it came out it was ready to go. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zpoiled1
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Very fast and easy to put together. Has a nice flavor but I wouldn't call it a hot pepper cheese ball as it has a very mellow flavor and I followed the recipe exactly. That being said I would make it again. Also be sure you take it out of the fridge about an hour before serving so it spreads easily and for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zpoiled1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This is a very tasty cheese spread. Don't let the name fool you-the pepper jack cheese gives the spread just enough kick to make it interesting, but not hot. I made this recipes for New Year's Eve and my husband and I both really enjoyed it. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made this for a girls get together and it was perfect. I will not use sharp cheddar next time, will substitute more pepper jack cheese. Everyone loved it and we all split the leftovers. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States