Hot Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Everyone I have made this for absolutely loves it! However, I added several things to the recipe, including fresh minced garlic, garlic powder, crushed red pepper, dried minced onion, more chili powder, ginger and probably anything else on hand. I also let it sit for a while, for the favors to blend together and the dried spices to infuse the mixture. But, overall, the easiest peanut sauce to make. I particularly like rice sticks, chicken and zuchini with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Be sure to use organic peanut butter. This recipe can be greatly improved by adding ground cumin, ground ginger, and increasing the amount of cayenne (although ground dried thai chilis are much better). An entirely different recipe would sautee minced thai chili, minced ginger and combine the other ingredients (plus a little more peanut butter) over low heat until melded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Fantastic! I was nosing through my spice cabinet and found my curry as I was getting the cayenne. I tapped in a little, but somehow it came pouring out. I tasted the sauce with and without curry, and I say for the original recipe...add about 2 tablespoons of curry. Your mouth will love you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Well..this was good but not great. I got mixed reactions when I served this. Hubby is not a fan of peanut butter so he kind of turned his nose up at this...and my son thinks it belongs on toast with jelly, but was open enough to at least take a bite. I, on the other hand, thought it was pretty good, but needed to be doctored a little. I'll take the advice of others and add some more spices to see if that helps. I served this hot over pasta noodles. Thanks Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This was a wonderful recipe! While I was cooking it, my husband told me he can't take the smell any more - he had to eat it now! Then he took into work the next day and a girl used it as a spread on her ham sandwich and she said it was absolutely amazing! I added a little extra water, some garlic, skipped the lemon juice, and substituted the cayenne pepper for a spicier bottled sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Delaney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Although there may be other peanut sauces that are more complex. At 10pm when you need to make something fast, this is it. It's so easy that I whip it up from memory and use it as a pasta sauce. These ingredients are the bare minimum. You don't even need a fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
If you like P.B., which we do, this sauce is so versatile as you can put it on or add it to so many recipes. Like SPLOTCH79, I added a lot more spices to suit our tastes and used it with stir fried chicken, vegies and chinese noodles. The kids loved it!! Thanks Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Great over rice but for an even better taste i would recommend adding coconut milk. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
MMmmmmmmm. My whole family really enjoyed this sauce. I marinated chicken and tofu(seprately of course!!) in the sauce and added green onions as well. i didn't have any brown sugar so i used white and it still turned out great. I might use a little less soy sauce next time though. I plan to try this sauce for dipping sometime but it would need to be thicker so probably just add more peanut butter. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I thought this sauce was alright. I followed the recipe to the T and I thought it just tasted like regular peanut butter thinned out. I will still be looking for the perfect peanut sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States