Hot Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This was a really simple and easy recipe...and worked out GREAT even though I didn't have all the ingredients and made some substitutions. I didn't have soy sauce, so I used teriyaki sauce, i didn't have lemon juice so I used lime juice, i didn't have cayenne pepper so I used Franks red hot cayenne pepper sauce. Even with my lack of ingredients and "close" substitutions, it still turned out great! I took another reviewers suggestion and added garlic powder, onion powder, and ground ginger. My family was crazy over this sauce...we saved the leftovers so they can pour it over rice for lunch. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Used ginger instead of cayenne for a stir fry flavor...very excellent! Great alternative to regular stir fry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Very easy recipe and tasty. I also added a few dashes of garlic salt. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
My daughter was mad when I told her I was making Thai Peanut stir fry for dinner, but after tasting it she joked that it was exactly what she had been asking me to make. She loved it!! I made it exactly as the directions said, but because we like spice, I also added a "pinch" (less than 1/4 tsp.) of Zatarain's concentrated (liquid) Shrimp & Crab Boil to the sauce. I did heat my sauce too, which took out the lumpiness that I just couldn't stir out. I served it over cooked spaghetti noodles and added cooked chicken. I was going to add stir-fry vegies too, but because my daughter had made a fuss earlier and she had a friend over, who I wasn't sure liked vegies either, I just served them on the side for my husband and I. Made this along with the "Sweet & Sour Chicken I" recipe from this site as well. LOVED both of them. These were better than restaurant, and are definitely good enough to serve to company. We will be making this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars WITH the changes I made. I took the advice of many others and added 1/2 tsp ground ginger root, 1 crushed clove garlic, and pinches of both garlic and onion powder, and slightly less soy sauce (I ran out). I used crunchy peanut butter and my fiance says it's the BEST he's ever eaten (we live in the Netherlands and this "satay sauce" is eaten quite regularly, so that's a big complement). I also tried adding less water (some reviews said it was 'like watery peanut butter' but I ended up adding the rest of the water because it was so thick! I think the amount in the recipe is perfect). My only other comment would be that the serving size is for 6 people, but we ate it with stirfry veggies and we used the entire amount between the two of us. For more than 2 - 4 people, I would definitely double this recipe! Delicious, will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was good, but I doctored it so not a five-star recipe. I followed other reviewer's tips and added more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I'd give this 4.5 stars. This was really good as a coleslaw dressing on cabbage, red pepper, red onion, deep fried tofu cubes and garnished with crushed roasted peanuts. Yummy! I did make the sauce as specified and it was really good but I like spicy food so I added more cayenne, garlic and half a jalpeno pepper. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
MMM MMM MMM!! So good, and such a great consistency. I didn't have regular peanut butter, so I used what I had-- one of those new peanut butter and honey mixtures. I also added some ginger paste and a little bit of fresh minced garlic. It was WONDERFUL! I doubled the recipe and poured over pasta with sauteed carrots, mushrooms, garlic and green onions cooked with some ginger paste and Thai red curry paste. SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I agree with the other posts. I had to use A LOT more cayenne pepper. I also added ground ginger and some garlic to the sauce. The base, though, is a good start and tweaking it to your personal taste completes it. Sauteed some chicken and veggies and served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
WOW. I cannot believe how amazing this is. WOW WOW WOW. I never have to buy this from a store ever again. 5 MILLION stars! Tastes amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States