Hot Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is a recipe that I use quite often. It's a great alternative to make from the coconut milk based sauce and it's much easier. I find the sauce has a nicer consistency if you heat it up and bring to a simmer; it comes out a lot smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Pretty good for when you are in a hurry, but it needs a little something to make the flavor more complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silkensorrows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I'm sorry, but as written this just tastes like watered down peanut butter. Need to up the other flavors, add garlic, ginger, and I saw curry powder suggested by others. Also, the serving size is incorrect; I made this to go over rice noodles with steamed baby broccoli florets and matchstick carrots as a side dish and there was barely enough sauce for side dish portions. Oh, and it definitely was not 'hot' as the cayenne was smothered by the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Loved it! I added extra cayenne pepper because we like spicier food. This was a great recipe - I used it for shrimp stir-fry, which was great, but it would've been better with chicken. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I love this recipe for many reasons: 1. I have all the ingredients on hand, 2. It's super fast & easy to make, 3. It tastes great! I like to whip this Hot Peanut Sauce up when I am in a hurry and hungry! I usually put it on top of thin spaghetti noodles, and sometimes I will add in some cubed chicken breast. I usually double the sauce recipe, and I tend to add a little bit more cayenne because I like the spice. After I take my noodles off of the burner I put the sauce on the warm burner as a way to heat it up a little bit. For me, it also makes it easier to mix the sauce because the peanut butter melts down and it gets a little creamy. This sauce is a quick treat, that tastes great! The leftovers taste great as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
As written, I would say 4 out of 5 stars. I added 1 tablespoon curry, 1 tablespoon chili powder, fresh garlic and salt. With those additions, 5 stars. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I used this recipe as a dip for Thai Chicken Balls also from this site and it was so-so. I thought it was to sweet and it was missing something...I'll look for another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I gave this 4 stars as is, but would definitely give it 5 stars with one small change: Curry. I add between 1 and 2 tsp. curry powder and it is so good! This is one of my families favorites (and I have young kids). We all love this and don't get tired of it. I put it on Chicken and serve with rice and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Too salty; reduce soy sauce to 1 tablespoon. Consider dark soy sauce (tastes molassesier). Would try again, but not strictly by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
"This is superb!" said my husband. and I thought so too. The only thing I would do is cut back on cayene pepper by half if you have small children (or maybe totally cut it out for kids). Only thing I did was add 1/2 tsp. minced garlic and let sauce sit in fridge until I was ready to use. went great over noodles with chicken, broccoli and bell peppers. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States