Hot or Cold Vegetable Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this for my son's birthday brunch. I meant to double the recipe, but in my usual last minute frenzy, only doubled the amount of eggs and veggies. The dish turned out fantastic and tasted super creamy with half the amount of dairy. Everyone asked for the recipe and it's now a brunch staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
THis was very tasty. Only used milk as i did not have cream. Found it to be quite rich and would cut down on the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I doubled this recipe this recipe and made it for over 25 people in about an hour, using muffin tins instead of a large pan. Cooking time: 25 minutes @ 350F (sealevel). I used yellow squash and broccoli from my garden for the vegetables. Modifications: 1/2 the cream cheese and 1/2again as many eggs (9 for a single recipe), whipping cream instead of half&half. I left out the bread cubes, and layered the bottom of the muffin tins with about 1,1/2 tsp Italian style seasoned bread crumbs, then added about 1"-1,1/2" frittata mix to each muffin form. I like spice but some guests don't so I put out a small bottle of hot sauce as a garnish for those who enjoy. This was a smash hit with a sophisticated group of gourmands and will certainly be in our recipe book for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
following changes (due to what i had in the house): 1 zucchini, 1 8 oz package chopped frozen spinach, 1 onion, 3 cloves garlic. I sauteed all these together, also added a cup of diced tomatoes after sauteeing, before baking. Like others suggested, also used 9 eggs, cut cheese down to 1 cup, left out cream cheese and bread entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babooshka76
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made this for a cold lunch. My boyfriend thought it was delicious. He's on a low-carb diet and won't eat rice, pasta etc. and he really misses his junk food - and he said this was just as good as pizza and much lighter :) I made his with bacon, red pepper, mushrooms and tomato on top. I did as other reviewers suggested - added extra eggs and cut the cream cheese in half. I, personally, was sceptical to try the frittata coz it seemed a little rubbery but it tasted great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babooshka76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I found that you do not have to use the cream cheese, bread crumbs or half-and-half cream in this recipe. I used 9 eggs (as other reviewers suggested), no cream cheese and just skim milk in place of the half-and-half. I sprinkled a thin layer of Panko breadcrumbs on the bottom of the pan before adding the egg/vegetable mixture. As for the veggies, my kids love broccoli so I used a whole head of broccoli as my one and only vegetable (the first time I made this) and it worked out great. Actually, it tasted better the next day. Love this quick and nutritious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I've been looking for a recipe like this for awhile, but I balked at the high level of fat in this one. I finally decided to try lightening it. It was really good! I imagine the lightened version is less creamy and less eggy in taste, but it was still very good. Next time I will use white bread because I didn't care for the texture of the wheat. Here are my substitions: -1/2c Veggie Broth for 3 tbsp Vegetable Oil -3 whole eggs, 3 egg whites for 6 eggs -1/4c skim milk for 1/4c half and half -1 8oz Fat Free Cream Cheese and 1 8oz 1/3 Less Fat Cream Cheese for regular Cream Cheese -2 cups 2% shredded Cheddar instead of regular cheddar - added 1 slice of bread to make serving bigger These substitutions allowed 1 serving to be 270 calories and 14g of fat while keeping most of the protein and taste. Cooking time was reduced by 10-15 minutes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Made this for Christmas morning. Mixed up the ingredients seperately the day before(sauted the vegies, mixed the egg and cream cheese, etc). I omitted the mushroom as one person didn't eat them. I increased the eggs as suggested and used 1 block of cream cheese. The 3 remaining pieces were reheated the next day and were delicious(I managed to get a bite!). This may be our new Christmas breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I doubled this for a large group and it was devoured in no time. The only change I made was I did not use any onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Based on other reviews, I added some extra spices to get a bit more flavor. I made them for a work meeting and cooked individual frittatas in muffin pans. They got compliments from everyone and no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spring Vegetable Frittata

Enjoy this quick and easy vegetable frittata.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States