Hot or Cold Vegetable Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
another rave review! I made this for mothers day, a big crowd. As hostess, I LOVE these mix and dump recipes. This one has the added benefit of looking really pretty if you thinly slice a large tomato and embed it into the wet mixture and bake. Looks party and shower pretty but so easy. I used asparagus and canned artichoke hearts. 9 eggs as earlier posters suggested. Asparagus were steamed until crisp before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This turned out great, even with substantial substitutions. I only used 8 oz cream cheese (all I had), used broccoli and carrots in lieu of all other veggies, added ham, added 3 eggs based on other reviews, used seasoned salt in place of plain and a few shakes of dry mustard. I also used extra sharp cheddar for the cheese. Cooked in 8x11 glass dish for 40 min. Was very sceptical when I put in dish since it didn't look "eggy" enough to hold together, but it turned out great. Even my husband, who has hated every frittata I've ever made, loved this. I also loved it,and it was easy since I did the veggies in the microwave. What a great recipe, easy to "dress up" or "dress down" for any occasion by selecting different vegetables and meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
EXCELLENT! Served this as part of a family brunch yesterday & it was delicious. I added a jar (about 1 cup) of chopped marinated artichoke hearts, & increased the amount of garlic to 3 large cloves & eggs to 9. I used only 1 & 1/2 packs of cream cheese. Also I added some basil & dry mustard. You could get very creative with this recipe & add just about any kind of veggie, meat, or seasoning & it would be delicious. A great way to use leftovers! It is equally good today, cold, for lunch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I followed everything except the vegetables. Used: red pepper, carrot, asparagus, onion, and green chilli pepper. Very good. I think this would work with most any veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
My family and I enjoyed this Frittata very much. I did add 8 eggs, one pkg cream cheese, extra garlic and spices, roasted red peppers and our favorite wheat bread. It only took 45 minutes for cooking time. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5LABONTE18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this on Christmas morning and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Great recipe cold or hot although a bit more flavorful hot. Cutting the cream cheese in half also cuts the baking time a bit. Watch carefully. For more flavor I added 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil, eliminated the salt and pepper and substituted 1 tsp. Mrs. Dash and 1-2 tsp. Spike. This recipe got raves from a very picky brunch guest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I made this for my sisters bridal shower and it was a huge hit. It was really easy to prepare and I didn't have to worry about the timing. I did make some changes. I used 1 pkg of cream cheese, as suggested, and added 3 extra eggs. I also roasted the vegetables the day before at 400 for about 1 1/2 hours. I added about 4 cloves of garlic to the veggies and used red onion. This gave the frittata a great flavor and left little to do the next day. I can't wait to make this as a mexican frittata, a roasted red pepper and artichoke heart frittata, etc... YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Great, but even better with a red pepper and much more garlic. I also use baby bellas for the 'rooms. On the top, I put some sliced tomatoes so that they broil into the frittata. If you want to fancy it up, add some tiny pieces of cubes ham. For the shredded cheese, I use mexican or taco...uum,uum good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANN31
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This is really good! I added another egg and it could have used a couple more. Plus took other reviewers suggestions and only used 1 pkg. of Low fat cream cheese. I'm sure 2 would have been just fine. Also only used 3 slices of bread because thats all I had left! Also, try adding a tsp of dry mustard powder, or a TBS of prepared dijon mustard for that missing zip. I used dry mustard and it had a wonderful flavor. Hubby finished it off at lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States