Hot Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Everyone at the football party loved this recipe! I followed another reviewers advice and sautéed the onions and added red pepper flakes. I also did a who,e package of 5 white cheese Kraft blend instead of parmesan. I melted everything together, and put it in a bread bowl, and baked it until browned. We tried it with different crackers, and oven cooked bread, everyone preferred the oven crisped bread. Next time I might try adding green and/or red peppers for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Went over very well at our Super Bowl party. I made 2/3 of a batch and it was plenty. People loved it served with beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Really good...simple ingredients always on hand....sauteed the onions with some garlic; used lite cream cheese, a bit of mayo and a bit of sour cream. Love to try it with some other cheeses next time...Fritos were a bit too strong a flavor to dip with...a milder cracker or pita chip would better let the flavor shine thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I have made this dip for numerous parties and get togethers. It is always praised and I am always asked for the recipe. It has become my signature pot luck dish and most requested appetizer for family dinners. So easy to make and serve. I serve it with Townhouse Crackers and within 10 minutes on the table it is completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! Great on a buttery cracker like Ritz on Townhouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Took it to a ladies gathering for 12 and it was all eaten except 1 serving. Sauteed onion in a bit of olive oil, but the remainder of recipe the same. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made this for New Year's 2012! Very similar to a recipe that we used to toast on party sized rye breads. This goes very well with dark, dense breads to spread on... We used a sweet wheat & oat bread from a local bakery. Love, Love, Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was the first time I have made this recipe. I tried it on my family Christmas day. It was amazing!! It was so creamy and flavorful. We will be adding this to our list of holiday traditions :-). Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I cut the recipe down to 16 servings (basically in 1/3), sauteed the onion until brown before adding, and added 1/2 tsp of jarred minced garlic. Very good. Baked only 20 minutes because of the smaller size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I've made this many times because it's always a winner. I prefer sour cream instead of the mayo. One time I had Vidalia onions and it was the best, but can't always get those. I also love to serve this in a sourdough bread bowl. Great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States