Hot Milk Sponge Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Really good. I over cooked mine by a few minutes. Make sure to beat the eggs for about 7-8 minutes to get maximum fluffiness. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Renahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Perfect recipe! Those complaining it's too 'eggy' it might simply be because you are not beating the egg enough. It has to be well-bitten til thick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I just made this. I cut the recipe in half and baked in 6 mini bundt pans for 20 minutes just to see if they would remove easily from the pan. i have a cakelet pan ordered that I want to use for strawberry shortcake. I have already ate 2. This would make great strawberry shortcake and tastes like a cross between the little store bought short cakes and Twinkies. I didn't have any milk, so I used half and half instead, eliminated the butter and used more half and half to replace the butter. They bounced on the cooling rack when they fell out of the pans. One bounced off of the rack onto the floor to a grateful dog. My family and dog thank you for this easy to make 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Beautiful, light, moist sponge cake with just a hint of almond flavor. I thought it might be shy on butter by a tablespoon or so, but it was just fine as is. Easy to make, nearly foolproof. I can't imagine how you could goof up on a cake like this. The ingredients are conveniently and readily at hand and it mixes up in just a minute or two. Perfect for strawberry shortcake - individual cakelet pans would be so cool (I was too lazy), but this wasn't compromiseed at all just baked in an 8x8" pan (for a half recipe, baked about 20-25 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by haneyba
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This cake was so good, and really easy to make. I used a spring form pan, and then when the cake was done, cut in half and put home made whipped cream with strawberries and blueberries in it. It was perfect, and a really great spring time dessert. I made it according to direction, but instead of using a mixer I used my food processor and it was simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
When making this for 6-8 servings, use a 9 inch cake pan. 9X13 is too large and cooks in 15 minutes. Very nice base cake for fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Quite simple to make using mostly staples from your kitchen cupboard. Very light and fluffy and tastes great with Caramel Frosting I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I Used this recipe at skool. This is a very tasty and delicious cake and many people would enjoy it. i recommend this cake to anyone who enjoys cooking and big cakes LOL . Luv LittleMissPiggy xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
too eggy!!!! and chunky.. it's not fluffy at all but for a chunky eggy flavoured caked.. hmm itz ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States