Hot Milk Sponge Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
My cakes never rise so I doubled up the quantity on this cake the first time I made it. It rose perfectly so I ended up with an enormous cake and was very impressed! I think the trick is to have the milk very hot, it bubbled when it met the other ingredients. The texture was light and it had a slightly milky taste which was pleasant. I added chocolate powder and if anyone is thinking of doing the same, add more than you think you'll need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I omitted the vanilla and used 1tbsp of green tea powder to make a green tea cake, so I shall not comment on the taste... As for the texture, it was great! Moist and spongy, exactly like those from cake mixes! I'm not sure if it's my own fault (I used silicone pans, which supposedly bake faster), but at 25min the cake was already slightly overbaked... I'll definitely bake this again and try out the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
Spongy enough, and sweet enough. Loved it! Not too many eggs and not too much fat, yet delicious. I tried omitting the tablespoon of butter and it didn't work very well, but it was fine when I put 3/4 tablespoon. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
This recipe has been in the family for many years. I lost it recently and am glad to have it for my gathering of a "Family Recipe Book" in celebration of my mother's life. She reached 100 years before leaving this world, with a bright mind and a great sense of humor. Thanks so much to Michelle Chen. She will be given credit for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
This cake turned out so badly that i dont want to try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
This recipe doesn't double well. It's very "eggy" and has little or no sponge to it at all. There are better and less complicated recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This cake is so great! I was so happy with the results - it was a million times better than mix cakes. Perfect texture. I turned it into the best Rum cake I ever had by: cooking 1/3 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water and 2 tbls of corn sugar on the stove till disolved then once cooled adding 1/4 c of rum. I poked the cake half way throuhg all over and poured this all over. I highly recommend trying this. Low fat, tons of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This didn't turn out well, very floury tasting. I don't know if I did something wrong or if it was the recipe but this is the first recipe on this site that I've had problems with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This definitely was very eggy, so if that's your thing, go for it. It's basically adding flour to a custard. Spongy enough, but could be lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Awesome, amazing, super easy cake! I was looking for a good recipe to make a cake with some Bailey's I had lying around and it was sooo good! I used the recommendations of a previous reviewer who added a rum sauce to theirs and I substituted the Baileys in for the rum. It might have not needed as much sugar as the rum sauce but it really complemented the cake beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States