Hot Milk Sponge Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I had never heard of this cake making technique before & since it seemed very quick to make I gave it a try yesterday when I needed a base for a baked alaska - it came out perfectly! This is my quick cake of choice from now on - and, as a bonus, it is much lower in fat than many other sponge cake recipes. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This didn't turn out well, very floury tasting. I don't know if I did something wrong or if it was the recipe but this is the first recipe on this site that I've had problems with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This is a terrific recipe for a building block type of cake. I wouldn't eat it plain, as it would be very dry. I drizzled my cake with syrup made from 1/4 c. water, 1/4 c. sugar, and 2 T. orange juice concentrate. Then I topped it with a thin layer of almond paste, cut it into squares, and glazed the squares with a simple confectioners' sugar glaze. I put the glazed squares into decorative muffin papers and topped them with white chocolate decorations. It was a delicious alternative to frosted cupcakes and was a hit at my son's birthday party. I will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This definitely was very eggy, so if that's your thing, go for it. It's basically adding flour to a custard. Spongy enough, but could be lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Awesome, amazing, super easy cake! I was looking for a good recipe to make a cake with some Bailey's I had lying around and it was sooo good! I used the recommendations of a previous reviewer who added a rum sauce to theirs and I substituted the Baileys in for the rum. It might have not needed as much sugar as the rum sauce but it really complemented the cake beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This cake is so great! I was so happy with the results - it was a million times better than mix cakes. Perfect texture. I turned it into the best Rum cake I ever had by: cooking 1/3 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water and 2 tbls of corn sugar on the stove till disolved then once cooled adding 1/4 c of rum. I poked the cake half way throuhg all over and poured this all over. I highly recommend trying this. Low fat, tons of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I made this using soy milk so that might be the problem. I didn't like this at all. It was very eggy tasting and had a rubbery texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rikjog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I needed sponge cake for a trifle and as I mess up conventional sponge cakes half the time I gave this method a try. I used 1 cup less 2 Tbsp. of all-purpose flour in place of cake flour. Thanks to the very detailed instructions I had perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
My cakes never rise so I doubled up the quantity on this cake the first time I made it. It rose perfectly so I ended up with an enormous cake and was very impressed! I think the trick is to have the milk very hot, it bubbled when it met the other ingredients. The texture was light and it had a slightly milky taste which was pleasant. I added chocolate powder and if anyone is thinking of doing the same, add more than you think you'll need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I omitted the vanilla and used 1tbsp of green tea powder to make a green tea cake, so I shall not comment on the taste... As for the texture, it was great! Moist and spongy, exactly like those from cake mixes! I'm not sure if it's my own fault (I used silicone pans, which supposedly bake faster), but at 25min the cake was already slightly overbaked... I'll definitely bake this again and try out the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States