Hot Milk Sponge Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
FAST AND EASY TO PUT TOGETHER AND IS AGOOD BASIC CAKE FOR FRUIT OR ITALIAN CREAM FILLING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
I have made this several times and enjoy it with fruit topping and whipped cream. The sponge cake is much lighter and tastier than normal shortcake. Great fast, easy. I bake it in a 8X8 square pan. Wonderful treat without tons of calories! Thanks Sandra!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was super moist, sweet, spongy and absolutely delicious! A keeper, better than my Moms!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I really appreciate your posting this recipe; my grandma used to make it, and when we lost her, I thought I'd lost hot milk sponge cake forever! It was always my favorite thing she made for us, and I particularly appreciate the time indications you put in here--good job, and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Easy, versatile. Add 1/2 cup cocoa for a chocolate sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I baked a cake for the first time in my life this christmas! ... And surprisingly it turned out quite well. The only problem in it was ... it didn't fluff up. When I consulted one of my friends, she suggested I ferment it for about 5 hours before actually baking the cake. However, there is no mention in the recipe for the same. Can anyone help me out? ... Should I leave the cake for fermentation before baking it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This cake was phenomenal!! I put freshly whipped cream, pineapple, and toasted coconut on top, it was to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melhenn27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
YUM! Let is be said I am not the best baker, this is actually the first time I've ever baked a cake-- IT WAS SO GOOD! Better than any bake mix I've ever used. This was so easy, too! I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk, "light" butter and added a pinch of salt. I only used 1 tablespoon of milk for the topping and omitted the nuts. The cake was light and fuffy and moist! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This was really good!I used the cake as a base for strawberry shortcake and I didn't do the whole coconut broiling thing. It was the perfect, spongey and delicious, cake that I was hoping for!Thanks much:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Really good! And really easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States