Hot Milk Sponge Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I was looking for a small sponge cake that would be quick and easy and this was it. I skipped the topping, added about 1/2 tsp vanilla and instead served it with strawberries and whipped cream. Imagine a Twinkie with no chemical taste, fresher and more tender...that's the effect I got. Be sure to mix with a whisk attachment if you have and mix very well as air is the primary leavening here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I made the cake, not the topping, and it was just what I was after - just a basic, old-fashioned sponge cake. I used the batter to make individual sponge cake shells for strawberry shortcake. The cakes were light, tender, airy and perfect to absorb those sweet strawberry (mixed with a little Chambord) juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Mmmm, this cake turned out moist, fluffy, and delicious. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
FAST AND EASY TO PUT TOGETHER AND IS AGOOD BASIC CAKE FOR FRUIT OR ITALIAN CREAM FILLING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Easy, versatile. Add 1/2 cup cocoa for a chocolate sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I wish there were words to describe how absolutely wonderful this cake is. The only thing I did differently was to make 1-1/2 batches and put it in an 8" x 11.5" pan and cooked for 23-25 minutes. It has a great texture, not too dry, not too crumbly, not too spongy, just perfect. I did not make the topping but used as strawberry shortcake, granted the strawberries have been put away awhile and I still cannot stop eating this cake with nothing on it. The only thing I would suggest is to make when the kids are playing.....my 2-1/2 year old thought that the 4 minute and 5 minute beating times were just way too long. :) Will be making again (maybe even in the next couple of days). Thanks for the great recipe. I will never make shortcakes for my strawberries again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
I have made this several times and enjoy it with fruit topping and whipped cream. The sponge cake is much lighter and tastier than normal shortcake. Great fast, easy. I bake it in a 8X8 square pan. Wonderful treat without tons of calories! Thanks Sandra!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This cake was phenomenal!! I put freshly whipped cream, pineapple, and toasted coconut on top, it was to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melhenn27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I did not make the coconut topping to go on this. I made these my mini Bundt pan, and then we topped them with whipped cream and strawberries. Made for a delicious and very light dessert, especially because of the very low amount of butter in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
YUM! Let is be said I am not the best baker, this is actually the first time I've ever baked a cake-- IT WAS SO GOOD! Better than any bake mix I've ever used. This was so easy, too! I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk, "light" butter and added a pinch of salt. I only used 1 tablespoon of milk for the topping and omitted the nuts. The cake was light and fuffy and moist! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States