Hot Milk Sponge Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I was looking for a small sponge cake that would be quick and easy and this was it. I skipped the topping, added about 1/2 tsp vanilla and instead served it with strawberries and whipped cream. Imagine a Twinkie with no chemical taste, fresher and more tender...that's the effect I got. Be sure to mix with a whisk attachment if you have and mix very well as air is the primary leavening here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
awesome! I was skeptical, but I wanted a cake that i could make with a cream and this was perfect. I didn't put on the topping, but I doubled the batch for the cake and covered each layer with pureed mango and frosted with homemade whip cream. I called it a mango twinkie cake. Fantastic! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a very good and simple recipe. A bit of work but worth it. I did not use the nuts or coconut. And made the topping a little differently. I melted it all in a sauce pan like the sauce for bananas foster and poured on top while stil warm. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I want to say that I'm a total klutz when it comes to cooking. Even then this recipe turned out beautifully! I varied it a little by adding some pineapple extract and essence to the batter! Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pune, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Delicious !! I definitely will be making this often. I used chocolate icing and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I made the cake without the topping (I plan to use it in a trifle) and it came out as promised, light and fluffy. I baked it for exactly 20 minutes and it was a tad overdone, so keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Mmmm, this cake turned out moist, fluffy, and delicious. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Really good! And really easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Easy, versatile. Add 1/2 cup cocoa for a chocolate sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This was really good!I used the cake as a base for strawberry shortcake and I didn't do the whole coconut broiling thing. It was the perfect, spongey and delicious, cake that I was hoping for!Thanks much:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States