Hot Milk Sponge Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Great Recipe..the cake came out soft, moist, and fluffy..delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RALWATTAR
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
EXCELLENT cake!! I didn't make the topping, only the cake and topped it with whipped cream and strawberries to make a strawberry shortcake-like dessert. My guests loved this cake and everyone had seconds. Be sure to use a whisk attachment and beat for as long as the directions say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I cannot ask for a better recipe than this one. Honestly, this was easy to make and tasted great. As long as you follow the instructions, it will come out perfect. I baked it in a toaster oven, and it makes no difference. I would recommend this to a friend and continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I didn't use the topping recipe, but instead turned this into the BEST strawberry shortcake recipe ever! Baked it in a 9-inch round pan, sliced it horizontally, filled with sugared strawberries and freshly whipped cream, and topped with the same, and it was gone within minutes! Thanks so very much, as I'm not so much of a baker, but this was incredibly easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This cake turned out great, and I am notoriously BAD at making cake (they fall and other bad cake tricks). 5 stars for this one because it did not fail me. I followed the directions for the cake, only adding a tsp of vanilla to the listed ingredients. I did not add the topping, used a strawberry sauce - this was just the thing for strawberry shortcake type dessert. One trick for sure is don't get that milk and butter too hot or it might curdle the egg mixture. I actually might do that step after beating the eggs but before adding the flour/baking powder to give it time to cool down somewhat. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Tastes really pretty good, but not the same kind of really fluffy spongy sponge cake that's leavened with egg white... Made it twice, and both time had bits of unmoistened flour in the end... maybe it's because I am beater with a fork instead of a beater ?... but I didn't have this problem with any other non-egg-white type cake... Also the batter wasn't a whole lot in terms of volume... so poured into an 6"x9" pan instead of the 9"x9" suggested... and the thickness of the finished product was only 1"-1.25"... I personally don't want a cake with the height of brownies... so would probably double the cake part of it to bake in an 8"x8" if I was entertaining... Made it once with 2 Tb of cocoa like someone suggested, plus 2 Tb of instant coffee granule... (without the topping)... the flavour turns out OK, but not spectacular... If I was looking for a mocha cake would probably go for a chiffon recipe instead... Anyway, the coconut topping is really my favorite... This is a very good old fashioned snacking cake... home-made style... not exactly elegant but definitely hearty and homey... Makes great comfort food to go with coffee when you're pulling an all-nighter... Will make again... if for nothing else, surely for the coconut topping !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great Recipe! Really moist and flavorful and very easy to change to situations. I made it for my mom's job's party and they all loved it and even asked to keep it so the people who weren't their could try it. I didn't have the right size pan so I used a pie plate (Strange, I know) and I replaces coconut and walnuts with Almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanukana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rockland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I loved the taste of this cake! It was soft, fluffy, and just the right sweetness. It was easy to make and came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This cake was pretty good. Good texture and just sweet enough. I did not use the topping, but added some almond extract and a pinch of salt. Be warned....I set my timer for 20 minutes and the cake was overdone!! I would check it around 18 minutes!! Other than that this is a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This cake turned out perfect! Moist, incredibly fluffy and just sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeviousV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States