Hot Milk Sponge Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I did not make the coconut topping to go on this. I made these my mini Bundt pan, and then we topped them with whipped cream and strawberries. Made for a delicious and very light dessert, especially because of the very low amount of butter in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I wish there were words to describe how absolutely wonderful this cake is. The only thing I did differently was to make 1-1/2 batches and put it in an 8" x 11.5" pan and cooked for 23-25 minutes. It has a great texture, not too dry, not too crumbly, not too spongy, just perfect. I did not make the topping but used as strawberry shortcake, granted the strawberries have been put away awhile and I still cannot stop eating this cake with nothing on it. The only thing I would suggest is to make when the kids are playing.....my 2-1/2 year old thought that the 4 minute and 5 minute beating times were just way too long. :) Will be making again (maybe even in the next couple of days). Thanks for the great recipe. I will never make shortcakes for my strawberries again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I made the cake, not the topping, and it was just what I was after - just a basic, old-fashioned sponge cake. I used the batter to make individual sponge cake shells for strawberry shortcake. The cakes were light, tender, airy and perfect to absorb those sweet strawberry (mixed with a little Chambord) juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Great low fat dessert! And a very forgiving recipe. I've never made sponge cake before and my 4 year old was helping me "throw" everything in. So I missed the part about beating the sugar into the eggs first...oops. Everything still turned out just great and we all enjoyed our dessert with strawberries :) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Loved it!!! didnt use the topping. made a layer cake and filled with peaches. It was so easy to make and the flavor was awsome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used this cake to make a strawberry shortcake. Although it was easy to make, the cake was a little on the dry side. However, the juice from the strawberry sauce remedied that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Good! But a little dense, even though I beat the eggs and sugar for a total for 8mins (4mins just eggs, 4mins after adding sugar). Maybe 10mins of beating will help? I reduced the sugar in the cake to 3/4 cup and didn't make the frosting, it was already sweet and sticky enough. Added 1/2 tsp salt and vanilla to batter. I think I'd use more baking powder next time... 1.5tsp perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This came out really well made this without the topping to use as a base in a caribbean icebox cake. As another reviewer in a similar recipe advised I did beat the eggs for four minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I made this cake and my husband RAVED about it. I hate coconut, so just added a few more pecans. I followed the instructions for beating and it was light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
It's an average cake. Doesn't have the aroma of other cakes so it feels a bit bland and flat. The cake is not dry but not as moist and soft as what I'm used to. Second time I made it, I added vanilla. I put the mixer on whip instead of beat setting and it made it a bit softer. It was still not the texture I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States