Hot Milk Sponge Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this just as written, with the walnut and coconut topping - love it! I'm not that great a cook, but it came out just like I'd want. Its indeed easy, and especially so when I use the stand mixer and a timer for the eggs and sugar. The cake has an airy texture and no overpowering sweetness. The broiled brown sugar, walnut, and coconut topping adds crunch and more flavor. I can see how this cake would be a great base for other fruit toppings. I will keep it on hand for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Yummy! Followed the recipe to the "T". Only change i made was to leave the walnuts out since my mom doesn't like them. The topping really gave the cake a nice crunchy top, while the sponge was moist and fluffy. Thanks Zookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was a big hit! I did not make the topping, but served the warm cake with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of homemade chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I did not make the coconut topping to go on this. I made these my mini Bundt pan, and then we topped them with whipped cream and strawberries. Made for a delicious and very light dessert, especially because of the very low amount of butter in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I wish there were words to describe how absolutely wonderful this cake is. The only thing I did differently was to make 1-1/2 batches and put it in an 8" x 11.5" pan and cooked for 23-25 minutes. It has a great texture, not too dry, not too crumbly, not too spongy, just perfect. I did not make the topping but used as strawberry shortcake, granted the strawberries have been put away awhile and I still cannot stop eating this cake with nothing on it. The only thing I would suggest is to make when the kids are playing.....my 2-1/2 year old thought that the 4 minute and 5 minute beating times were just way too long. :) Will be making again (maybe even in the next couple of days). Thanks for the great recipe. I will never make shortcakes for my strawberries again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I made the cake, not the topping, and it was just what I was after - just a basic, old-fashioned sponge cake. I used the batter to make individual sponge cake shells for strawberry shortcake. The cakes were light, tender, airy and perfect to absorb those sweet strawberry (mixed with a little Chambord) juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Great low fat dessert! And a very forgiving recipe. I've never made sponge cake before and my 4 year old was helping me "throw" everything in. So I missed the part about beating the sugar into the eggs first...oops. Everything still turned out just great and we all enjoyed our dessert with strawberries :) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Loved it!!! didnt use the topping. made a layer cake and filled with peaches. It was so easy to make and the flavor was awsome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used this cake to make a strawberry shortcake. Although it was easy to make, the cake was a little on the dry side. However, the juice from the strawberry sauce remedied that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Good! But a little dense, even though I beat the eggs and sugar for a total for 8mins (4mins just eggs, 4mins after adding sugar). Maybe 10mins of beating will help? I reduced the sugar in the cake to 3/4 cup and didn't make the frosting, it was already sweet and sticky enough. Added 1/2 tsp salt and vanilla to batter. I think I'd use more baking powder next time... 1.5tsp perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States