Hot Milk Sponge Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This cake has been our family's "birthday cake" as long as I can remember (& I am 68 years old). It originally came from my grandmother or great-grandmother (can't remember which). Although this recipe calls for it to have a broiled topping & many folks here have indicated that they use it as a strawberry shortcake, in our family we frost it with a fudge frosting (the kind that hardens like "fudge"). It is a simple but amazingly delicious cake!! The only thing that I will tell anyone looking to make this is to be sure to beat the eggs the full 4+ minutes and to SLOWLY add the sugar, beating another 4+ minutes (in my experience, the slow incorporating of the sugar takes at least 6-8 minutes). For the rest, don't overmix the flour into the eggs, mix just until combined and the same with the milk & butter. Be gentle with this and you will have a devine cake!! Oh, I do add a teaspoon of vanilla extract as well. If I'm making this for a "crowd", I double it and make it in a 9x13 baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great with fresh strawberries and real whip cream. I was only looking for the cake, not the topping so I didn't make that part. I heated the milk and butter in the microwave instead of a saucepan and added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
barry liked this - baked it in a loaf pan and middle sunk in.....i used 2 tsp cream of tartar and 1 tsp baking soda in place of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELALALALA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I did not like this cake. The frosting is too rich and too sweet. The cake was just okay though I may try the cake recipe again. For sure not the topping. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
this is a great cake to try. remember to beat well and to use regular milk and to also to stir in the milk and butter right after heating.i recomend adding vanilla or almond extract for some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I made this recipe as a part of an attempt to replicate a cake made at a local Italian bakery - A light, fluffy cake with fresh strawberry, peach, and whipped cream filling, and frosted with a not-sickly-sweet frosting (I used homemade whipped cream). I doubled the recipe to have enough to make two layers about 1 1/2 - 2 inches thick. While this cake was tasty, it did not quite fulfill my "light and fluffy" hopes. If I were to make this again, I think think I would separate the eggs from the yolks and maybe add a little lemon zest for a "brighter" flavor. Also, this cake took about 40 minutes to bake in a convection oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is a lovely moist cake. Good enough to eat without icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guinnessgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this just as written, with the walnut and coconut topping - love it! I'm not that great a cook, but it came out just like I'd want. Its indeed easy, and especially so when I use the stand mixer and a timer for the eggs and sugar. The cake has an airy texture and no overpowering sweetness. The broiled brown sugar, walnut, and coconut topping adds crunch and more flavor. I can see how this cake would be a great base for other fruit toppings. I will keep it on hand for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Yummy! Followed the recipe to the "T". Only change i made was to leave the walnuts out since my mom doesn't like them. The topping really gave the cake a nice crunchy top, while the sponge was moist and fluffy. Thanks Zookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was a big hit! I did not make the topping, but served the warm cake with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of homemade chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States