Hot Mexican Spinach Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I made this recipe for a huge reception (1000 people)last weekend and it was a big hit. I got several requests for the recipe. I made a few modifications. 1)I completely omitted the milk. It didn't need it. 2)I added some Rotel Extra Hot tomatoes to add a little kick. 3) I used "mexican blend) cheese instead of Monterey Jack. This is a quick easy recipe that is easy to scale for large crowds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This is a very tasty and easy to prepare recipe! I have made it several times and everyone always loves it. The first time I made it, I included the evaporated milk per the recipe. The consistency was a little "soupy", so the next time I omitted the milk. Without it, the dip was much easier to scoop up with tortilla chips and I actually think it had more flavor. This is definitely a recipe that has been added to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This recipe is one we make quite often at my place, although with a few changes! I use cheddar cheese instead of the jack, and half and half cream instead of the evaporated. Be sure to use hot salsa and let it get nice and bubbley hot in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
WOW, totally awesome recipe. I doubled the recipe and made it all in the crockpot. I added 2 cans drained/rinsed black beans, 2 cans of corn, used HOT salsa. Instead of condensed milk- I added a couple spoonfuls of sour cream and a splash of milk, and used a combo co-jack cheese. Came out perfect, lots of requests for the recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Huge hit at our Superbowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
One word....AWESOME! This recipe has a great blend of flavors that just get better the more you eat! I served this with both tortilla chips and flat bread. In addition, I kicked it up with an additional jalapeno w/ the seeds, a can of diced green chilies, a cup of extra cheese (I used a cheddar-jack blend) and I used hot salsa. It was just the right amount of heat to warm you up but not make you sweat! Thanks for such a great recipe I will make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
The taste is great but I agree with the other reviewers that it needs hot salsa and omit the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Much better with Pepper Jack cheese instead of the Monterey Jack, and a chunky hot salsa with lots of textures and colors. Remove excess water from spinach by squeezing with paper towels after draining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Made this dip for a Mexican Theme Dinner. It was EXCELLENT! I made a few changes as suggested by past reviewers. I used hot salsa, a mexican blend of cheeses (shredded/packaged). I used half of the spinach. Added an additional 3 oz. of cream cheese and lessened the amount of Evap. Milk to 1/4 c. Excellent. The baking time is more like 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This is an awesome spinach dip. It was even good before baked, I couldn't stop eating it! I also left out the evaporated milk. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States