Hot Mexican Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This dip is a favorite of my husband and two boys. I usually don't keep fresh jalapeno on hand, I usually use one small can diced mild green chilies in place of the jalapenos. I also use homemade taco seasoning dip. My family can make quick work of this dip--it usually dosen't last any longer than 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was delish! I made it just as the recipe was written with the exception of adding grated pepper jack cheese to the been mix. I still added the grated cheese to the top - can't ever have to much cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Used non-fat plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream and omitted cream cheese. Used 1 small can of green chiles instead of the jalapeno. I omitted the cheese on top and (tried) to serve it cold without baking. I don't recommend this. The dip had a good spicy flavor, but without baking it wasn't that great (I was trying to imitate the bean dip in the jar-you know the one). Next time I will try baking it and I'm sure it will be much better, especially if I use the ingredients called for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was really easy to put together and so good! It had a lot of flavor and you could make it as mild or spicy as you want depending on the quantity of jalapeno you add to the dish. It would be fantastic for a crowd. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe was delicious and super easy to make. I prepared it the night before and just popped it into the oven before my guests arrived. Everyone loved it! I left out the jalapeños though since I knew a lot of kids would be sampling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I'm surprised more people have tried this. Super easy, and delicious. It is very rich with the cream cheese, but everyone at the football party liked it. We had quite a bit leftover (you could easily halve this), and the leftovers were great in bean burritos for lunch. I did sub a can of green chilis for the jalapeno. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was so good! I made it for Superbowl Sunday and my husband loved it. He likes things really hot so I used spicy jalapeno refried beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Have made this a few times now and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I have made this recipe five times in like 2 months haha. It's really easy and I ALWAYS make it the night before and pop it in the oven 30 before serving. Very tasty and everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. I never use jalapenos though so I used hot sauce instead. And I use Hambuger meat already cooked to add protein Love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States