Hot Jezebel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I served this at an open house during the holidays and loved it. It was so simple to make and I served it with crackers and sausage balls. I did need to do a little coaxing to get my guests to try the dip that is why I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This recipe has been a standard in Southern kitchens for ages and has withstood the test of time! No matter how many times I serve this, folks still seem to enjoy it. Keeps well in the fridge for several days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Easy, and very tasty served with cream cheese. Also any leftover dip is good served as a dip for chicken nuggets,or chicken fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This is a wonderful sauce. While experimenting to see if I wanted to serve this at my New Years Eve Bugget, I mixed it altogether with the cream cheese and spooned it over a baked chicken breast. Yummy. Since lots of reviewers say guests are reluctant to try it, I thought I might cut the cream cheese into 1 inch cubes, place a dollop of Jezebel on each cube and present it on a platter with romaine lettuce leaves or parsley in the center and crackers around the perimeter.Thanks for sharing, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This is really, really good. I've made it for years with half apricot and half pineapple preserves. Recently, I used a small can of drained crushed pineapple instead of the pineapple preserves and it was really good too. Great with Triscuits - you need something substantial. Also, I always "pre-spread" a few crackers and put them on the serving plate to get folks going. You can tell timid eaters to spread a lot of cream cheese on the cracker with just a little sauce so it's not to hot for them. My Mother-in-law gave me this recipe (with half pineapple preserves instead of all apricot) about 30 years ago. I didn't know it was so famous! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I only gave this four stars because, even though I liked it, it didn't seem pleasing to the eye... people were afraid of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Delicious. Added a splash of Worcestshire for zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I liked it, but no one else at the party touched it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Instead of black pepper, try using 1/4 teaspoon (or to taste) of red pepper flakes. It adds more kick and satisfies the need for a more desirable look. Encourage people to try to first bite and then relax...it's gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
The first time I made this, I had the same problem as a number of other reviewers....no body was willing to try this because it looked a little odd. The next time I brought it to a party, I mixed it all up together an sprinkled a bit of paprika and fresh parsley on top. NOW people were willing to try it. It was a big hit, and I got lots of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States