Hot Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
We enjoyed this "Hot Italian Sausage," but it was quite mild for our taste (and certainly more like the mild Italian sausage at our local gourmet butcher shop and Italian grocery store). This may be because I reduced the servings to 8 for my family (perhaps not getting ideal ratios). I am also thinking that maybe I was supposed to use Spanish paprika (which is hot) instead of the more commonly available Hungarian paprika (which is mild). We like highly-seasoned food at our home (personal taste). If I were to make this recipe again, I would at least double up on the spices and use fresh garlic (personal taste). Thank you Jim Wyllie for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Awesome! Had 20 lbs of moose to deal with, and didn't want to do another 'kit' seasoning. Unfortunately, I was out of fennel seed; amped up with extra star anise to try to compensate. Still delicious, but would have been better with the fennel. Used 20 lbs ground moose, 4 lbs pork fat, and used Vinnie's amped up spice ratios. Also had a jar of homemade chipotle from smoking and drying some jalapeños that I threw in there. Labeled all the freezer packs of sausage as ' vinnie-bag-o-donuts' :). Can't wait to try it again with some fennel....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was my second foray into making sausage, and I must say it was a massive success! After I was done linking the sausages, I smoked it with hardwood chips in wine for a couple of hours (around 220F) and it took the most amazing turn!!! It was a rodeo of flavor, and was the centerpiece of every dish it was in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Good start but not enough spices. I made (5 lbs) per the recipe and it was not spicy enough to match grocery store Italian hot sausage. I added a heaping tsp of cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp of dried habenero flakes and remixed and it tasted more like regular hot sausage. The recipe calls for garlic salt but I used garlic powder and it was fine, perhaps better for less salt and more garlic. The recommendations for paprika, salt, pepper, anise and fennel seed are spot on, I would never change those. Just adjust the heat to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I am Italian and have been eating sausage, peppers, and onions since I was a child. It is one of my favorite dishes eating it as a sandwich with the fixings preferrably on a hard roll bun. I make the sausage casserole once a month. Tomorrow is Sunday and am making the casserole with potatoes that are oven roasted. Comfort food and love leftovers too! I love putting and cooking the sausage in my pasta sauce. It gets so good as the sauce cooks and seeps into the sausage and makes it so tender and delicious. Enough on sausage...manga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louie345

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Thank God for the scaling feature on this site! No home cook is going to risk 20# of pork just to try something. The text looked excellent so I scaled to 8 servings (2# of meat). After reading ALL comments, I omitted the salt and increased some of the seasonings. (I'll post again with my FINAL edition.) For now, my method changes include using fresh garlic to replace garlic salt, less paprika as it is mostly coloring, more black pepper, olive oil for veggie oil, skipped the anise [don't have any] and increased the fennel and doubled+ the red pepper flake. I lightly toast and grind fennel seed and half of the red pepper flake. I'm on my third small batch and with #4 I'll get it perfect for my taste. Let's be clear here: There is nothing wrong with the original and it IS perfectly suitable for a mass-feeding or commercial use. On a much smaller scale, I usually test once as-is and if it has potential, begin to make it a personal recipe. I eliminated the extra salt, not for health reasons, but because I don't like that much and most end-use dishes for this sausage mixture already have plenty. I toast and grind fennel seed to smooth the texture and to extract more flavor per unit. [This is not essential.] The red pepper flake and black pepper are the 'heat' sources and very personal, your mileage may vary. (A great alternative is White Pepper, which tends to have more zing.) Five Stars, based on great ingredients and potential when Sm. batch is adjusted to personal taste. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is by far the leading recipe for Italian Sausage. I scaled it down to 20 servings, added a lot more fennel and a little more anise. Thank you Jim Wyllie for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I'm an old school Italian too and I tried Vinnie-Bag-O-donuts adjustments and I have to say, listen to this guy. he's got it nailed.. I made it his way and now my wife thinks I'm a god! Thanks Vinnie! You saved me allot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Recipe was really soft tasting, it was like the polish version of an italian sausage recipe given to them watered down. I doubled all spices accept reg. salt,tripled garlic salt,i had halved ingredients for 7 lbs, added a 1/4 cup granulated garlic for the hell of it, I'm Italian! Accidently added a 1/4 cup of chile de arbol powder thinking it was my paprika, its hot! So I got real hot italian sausage! original recipe was good as a burger recipe tho! but not for much of anything else In my opinion, others may vary! So eat whatever version you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I found this very bland. For each 5 lb of pork, I ended up adding 2 tbsp salt, 2 tbsp black pepper, 2 tbsp crushed red pepper, 1 heaped tbsp ground fennel, and 1 tbsp granulated garlic. For regular Italian sausage I halved the crushed red pepper and omitted the garlic. I found it helpful to freeze the pork for about 30 minutes before grinding. Also, cook a little of the mix after adding the seasoning to test the taste. You can always add more of something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States