Hot Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This is the BEST!! I make this big batch, put it in a jar (without the vegetable oil) and take out 2 tablespoons of the spice mix per pound of meat and add 2 tsp plus 1/2 tsp oil and a splash of vinegar. I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
We make this w ground beef all the time. We serve it as a crumble sausage ontop of rice or pasta w a sauce made of chopped onions, diced tomatoes, chicken soup or consume mix w some water and Italian spices. Its superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
We enjoyed this "Hot Italian Sausage," but it was quite mild for our taste (and certainly more like the mild Italian sausage at our local gourmet butcher shop and Italian grocery store). This may be because I reduced the servings to 8 for my family (perhaps not getting ideal ratios). I am also thinking that maybe I was supposed to use Spanish paprika (which is hot) instead of the more commonly available Hungarian paprika (which is mild). We like highly-seasoned food at our home (personal taste). If I were to make this recipe again, I would at least double up on the spices and use fresh garlic (personal taste). Thank you Jim Wyllie for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I recently received an attachment for my Kitchen Aid machine and Id like to make this, but I don't know where to find the sausage casings can someone point me in the right direction please
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
We made this with a venison & pork fat mix. Very good recipe indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Art

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is a good recipe. Halved it and used 5 lbs pork butt and 5 lbs venison. It turned out great. Definitely using more spice when making again. This is a versatile recipe so make it to satisfy your taste. Enjoyed the time making these with DH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Awesome! Had 20 lbs of moose to deal with, and didn't want to do another 'kit' seasoning. Unfortunately, I was out of fennel seed; amped up with extra star anise to try to compensate. Still delicious, but would have been better with the fennel. Used 20 lbs ground moose, 4 lbs pork fat, and used Vinnie's amped up spice ratios. Also had a jar of homemade chipotle from smoking and drying some jalapeños that I threw in there. Labeled all the freezer packs of sausage as ' vinnie-bag-o-donuts' :). Can't wait to try it again with some fennel....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was my second foray into making sausage, and I must say it was a massive success! After I was done linking the sausages, I smoked it with hardwood chips in wine for a couple of hours (around 220F) and it took the most amazing turn!!! It was a rodeo of flavor, and was the centerpiece of every dish it was in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Good start but not enough spices. I made (5 lbs) per the recipe and it was not spicy enough to match grocery store Italian hot sausage. I added a heaping tsp of cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp of dried habenero flakes and remixed and it tasted more like regular hot sausage. The recipe calls for garlic salt but I used garlic powder and it was fine, perhaps better for less salt and more garlic. The recommendations for paprika, salt, pepper, anise and fennel seed are spot on, I would never change those. Just adjust the heat to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I am Italian and have been eating sausage, peppers, and onions since I was a child. It is one of my favorite dishes eating it as a sandwich with the fixings preferrably on a hard roll bun. I make the sausage casserole once a month. Tomorrow is Sunday and am making the casserole with potatoes that are oven roasted. Comfort food and love leftovers too! I love putting and cooking the sausage in my pasta sauce. It gets so good as the sauce cooks and seeps into the sausage and makes it so tender and delicious. Enough on sausage...manga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louie345

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States