Hot Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
not enough fennel or hot pepper to rate as a hot italian sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This recepe took first place at a sausage cook off for out local Sons of Italy in America Club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
The sausage turned out wonderful, however it was not as hot as expected. The recipe calls for paprika, is that sweet or hot? It was unclear, but wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This was actually quite easy to make. I halved the recipe and froze the sausage in links, patties, meatballs and in 2 lbs. in bulk. We had some of the meatballs in sauce and they were great. Very flavorful, we will certainly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Great recipe, I'm so glad I found it. I live 70 miles from the nearest meat department that makes this sausage, so having this recipe makes my travel alot easier. Recipe is good as is but I like extra "kick" in my sausage so I cut the ground Pork in half (to ten pounds) and left the rest of the ingredients the same. YEEEHAAA! Will never buy this sausage over the counter again. Will only make my own with this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Well, what can I say but awesome hot Italian sausage. I worked in Italian restaurants for 7-8 years and ours was never this tasty (although we would buy it in from local Italian butchers/deli's. I scaled down this recipe to 4 servings (1lb pork) just to see, I will buy 2-3 pounds next time and freeze in individual portions. I could not find the anise seed so simply left it out and was fine without. I compared this recipe to a few others I saw and could not believe the amount of peppers fennels used in theirs, way too hot, you want a nice hot taste you can enjoy while still tasting the pork like this recipe gives, perfect! you don't want to blow your head off, what for? might as well just cover a plain burger/sausage in tobasco!! I also just had this plain on a portuguese roll(can't find good Italian bread here apart from ciabatta) no butter no onions or peppers, with sausage this tasty you don't need anything else really. Thanks (UPDATE) I just scaled this recipe to 12 portions(3lb pork) don't do it, the ingredients are all wrong! the pork says 3 pounds which is 3 times the original recipe I made(1lb porkbut all the salt and rest of ngredients has been multiplied by 4!! way too salty, couldn't believe it. So, scale down the recipe to 4 or 8 servings but not 12 as it is all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Different and fun project. We made these up a few weeks ago and barbeques some this weekend. I'd like to play around with the spices some more as they seem to need a little something. Overall good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is one of my standard freezer items now. Mix one pound of sausage with a big can of tomatoes and a little water, simmer and voila - an easy and awesome sauce for a lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I made this recipe several times now and it is great! I took it to the butcher when I slaughtered a pig to see if he would make some up for me and he says he loves it too and might start using it instead of his recipe. It's about the best I tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDW3264

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
made this for my son's 8th grade graduation party & everyone loved it!!! It seems to taste sooo much better fresh though...Once you freeze the patties, hubby says the flavor is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cassville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States