Hot Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Rocks if you increase all the spicess !!!! I use ground beef and it is. Awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I needed to pinch hit to turn plain ground turkey into spicy sausage for my soup. This was delicious! I downscaled the recipe to 1 lb. All of the ingredients are important, including the anise and fennel seeds, which I bought in bulk at my local store with bulk spice section. I used it immediately, rather than let it sit for 24 hours, and for this purpose it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe makes exquisite sausage. Really, very tasty and satisfying. I had to change the ratio of ingredients a bit, but all in all, this is our new sausage recipe! I scaled the recipe down to 10 pounds of sausage, so if you're halving it, here is what I used. Super simple to remember. And as a side note, some of the reviewers stated that it wasn't spiced enough, so I made these changes based upon their reviews. - 2 Tbl Salt - 2 Tbl granulated garlic - 2 Tbl ground black pepper - 2 Tbl paprika - 2 Tbl fennel seed, lightly toasted and ground - 1 Tbl red pepper flakes (2 if you're feeling adventurous)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made a smaller version (5lbs) of this. Doubled the spices to make it fit our tastes. Very yummy! I use these in several recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Scaled recipe back to 4 servings to make one pound. It wasn't hot and spicy, which is what I wanted and knocked it down 1 star, but it is a GREAT regular Italian Sausage recipe with 5 stars. I fried it in bulk after allowing to sit for 24 hours to add to my homemade pizza chili. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe. I downsized it to make two lbs. at a time by proportioning each ingredient. Also added one Tbls. of cider vinegar, really boosts it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I have a scaled down version of my own.5lbs ground pork.3 tbl kosher salt. 2 tsp black pepper. 1 tbl granulated garlic. 1 tbl paprika 1tbl italian seasoning 1tbl + 2tsp fennel the two tsp fennel in spice grinder.2 tsp ground coriander 2 tbl crushed red pepper. Mix all spices together first then mix into ground pork. Let flavors blend fpr at least 24 hours. I vacuum seal mine into portions.. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is very nice. I downsized it to 3 pounds pork, ground it on the KA stand-mixer, then stuffed links with the sausage accessory and casing from a local butcher. We ruptured a couple casings from too-high a drive speed, set the speed to 1, then hand-advanced the meat, which worked fine. I like more flavor than this recipe provides. I decided to omit anise, since fennel has licorice flavor, and added some other things: For four pounds of meat. Include fat, or trim it off. 6 garlic cloves 2 white onions, run through the KA meat grinder Basil, rosemary, thyme, oregano, flat parsley, red bell pepper, fine chopped or food-processor macerated, optionally run through the KA meat grinder to crush and release juices, or mortar and pestle. A little nutmeg. A little cumin and coriander whole seeds, freshly ground. Salt to taste. (The suggestion to make a little meatball and cook it makes great sense, to gauge how much salt is needed, completely safely.) These are suggestions. You should figure out what tastes good to you and your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Good but could use some work. I cut the servings Waaaay back first off because I was not willing to risk that much should we not like the sausage. The seasoning is too light, it needs to be doubled. We prefer lots of heat so we used even more of the crushed red pepper. (we grow and dry our own) I do suggest as the recipe indicates, to let the flavors mellow 24 hours then make a test meatball. We did this twice so we could adjust the spices. Another tip is to not pack the casings too full as I did. Some of them broke open during baking. They held their shape but I wanted them *perfect*. Dont over stuff to avoid this. I added fresh herbs from my garden of oregano, basil and parsley. I used fresh garlic and no garlic salt. I subbed veg oil with EVOO. Using my changes and additions I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was a little too salty as written. I will try again with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States