Hot Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I am Italian and have been eating sausage, peppers, and onions since I was a child. It is one of my favorite dishes eating it as a sandwich with the fixings preferrably on a hard roll bun. I make the sausage casserole once a month. Tomorrow is Sunday and am making the casserole with potatoes that are oven roasted. Comfort food and love leftovers too! I love putting and cooking the sausage in my pasta sauce. It gets so good as the sauce cooks and seeps into the sausage and makes it so tender and delicious. Enough on sausage...manga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louie345

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Thank God for the scaling feature on this site! No home cook is going to risk 20# of pork just to try something. The text looked excellent so I scaled to 8 servings (2# of meat). After reading ALL comments, I omitted the salt and increased some of the seasonings. (I'll post again with my FINAL edition.) For now, my method changes include using fresh garlic to replace garlic salt, less paprika as it is mostly coloring, more black pepper, olive oil for veggie oil, skipped the anise [don't have any] and increased the fennel and doubled+ the red pepper flake. I lightly toast and grind fennel seed and half of the red pepper flake. I'm on my third small batch and with #4 I'll get it perfect for my taste. Let's be clear here: There is nothing wrong with the original and it IS perfectly suitable for a mass-feeding or commercial use. On a much smaller scale, I usually test once as-is and if it has potential, begin to make it a personal recipe. I eliminated the extra salt, not for health reasons, but because I don't like that much and most end-use dishes for this sausage mixture already have plenty. I toast and grind fennel seed to smooth the texture and to extract more flavor per unit. [This is not essential.] The red pepper flake and black pepper are the 'heat' sources and very personal, your mileage may vary. (A great alternative is White Pepper, which tends to have more zing.) Five Stars, based on great ingredients and potential when Sm. batch is adjusted to personal taste. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is by far the leading recipe for Italian Sausage. I scaled it down to 20 servings, added a lot more fennel and a little more anise. Thank you Jim Wyllie for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I'm an old school Italian too and I tried Vinnie-Bag-O-donuts adjustments and I have to say, listen to this guy. he's got it nailed.. I made it his way and now my wife thinks I'm a god! Thanks Vinnie! You saved me allot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Recipe was really soft tasting, it was like the polish version of an italian sausage recipe given to them watered down. I doubled all spices accept reg. salt,tripled garlic salt,i had halved ingredients for 7 lbs, added a 1/4 cup granulated garlic for the hell of it, I'm Italian! Accidently added a 1/4 cup of chile de arbol powder thinking it was my paprika, its hot! So I got real hot italian sausage! original recipe was good as a burger recipe tho! but not for much of anything else In my opinion, others may vary! So eat whatever version you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I found this very bland. For each 5 lb of pork, I ended up adding 2 tbsp salt, 2 tbsp black pepper, 2 tbsp crushed red pepper, 1 heaped tbsp ground fennel, and 1 tbsp granulated garlic. For regular Italian sausage I halved the crushed red pepper and omitted the garlic. I found it helpful to freeze the pork for about 30 minutes before grinding. Also, cook a little of the mix after adding the seasoning to test the taste. You can always add more of something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Just like the butcher 60 years ago made back in Gatchell Ont. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Rocks if you increase all the spicess !!!! I use ground beef and it is. Awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I needed to pinch hit to turn plain ground turkey into spicy sausage for my soup. This was delicious! I downscaled the recipe to 1 lb. All of the ingredients are important, including the anise and fennel seeds, which I bought in bulk at my local store with bulk spice section. I used it immediately, rather than let it sit for 24 hours, and for this purpose it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe makes exquisite sausage. Really, very tasty and satisfying. I had to change the ratio of ingredients a bit, but all in all, this is our new sausage recipe! I scaled the recipe down to 10 pounds of sausage, so if you're halving it, here is what I used. Super simple to remember. And as a side note, some of the reviewers stated that it wasn't spiced enough, so I made these changes based upon their reviews. - 2 Tbl Salt - 2 Tbl granulated garlic - 2 Tbl ground black pepper - 2 Tbl paprika - 2 Tbl fennel seed, lightly toasted and ground - 1 Tbl red pepper flakes (2 if you're feeling adventurous)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States