Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Wow is this stuff good! This is some of the best Giardiniera I have EVER had! It takes two days but boy is it worth the wait! I used almost everything out of my garden and I couldn't get over the flavor of this. I ended up making several quarts and canning it. I use it on tons of stuff or eat it right out of the jar. EXCELLENT! THIS STUFF ROCKS! THANKS PHONETEK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe! I opted for 15 serrano chiles instead of the jalapenos because their smaller size(closer to the size of my diced veggies) and their a little hotter. I also added a little more of each veggie than was called for. I love spicy AND flavorful things and this is great. Just the right amount of heat. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdca5033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe, it's just hard to wait 2-3 days before you can eat it. You can adjust any of the amounts of veggies to suit your tastes. I will try it with more hot peppers because I like it a little spicier. The 50/50 ratio of vinegar and oil seems a little less oily than the giardiniera you usually find in the store, but it has a nice refreshing taste. I usually just keep chopping chopping up more and more vegetables, and then mixing up as much of the "dressing" as it takes to cover everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Heavenly. As a vegan treat for me, my sweet brother-in-law, Chaz the Chef, heated this for me in the microvave on a whole wheat bun, with a little of the juice soaked into the bun. No cheese, just hot vegetables on soft bread. mmmmm... Heaven on a bun...it's addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCountant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This stuff is the BEST!! I have been eating it everyday with my lunch! I just used it as a base recipe and added all my favorite veggies. I like it hot, so I added extra red pepper flakes and some hot peppers that I had in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
fantastic!!! fantastic!! fantastic!!! I love being able to take advantage of the veggies I have on hand...sometimes I have more celery available, sometimes I have several types of peppers to use up...this recipe will allow to change up the ingredients as needed. Although I do have a question...in the event that this lasts in the house for more than a couple of days...does anyone know how long this will keep?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Excellent, versatile recipe! I made this only 24 hours ago and I've been snacking on it, already. I love giardiniera, but when I purchase the hot version in the supermarket, it doesn't always have enough of the veggies that I like. This recipe solves THAT problem! I like to eat giardiniera as a snack or serve as an appetizer, so I cut the veggies into bite-size chunks. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. Next time I will add fresh, whole mushrooms. And, since this made a gallon size jar of veggies, I'm going to process some of this batch in jars in a hot water bath to preserve some for future snacking. Thank you, so much, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This recipe is simply the best! Versatile and usable on nearly any dish, try a couple of heaping spoonfuls on bow tie pasta for a quick meal. Visions of Nana with her gray bun pulled back, an apron covering her full breasts as she chopped and diced to create our giardiniera...the memories all come rushing back to me whenever I taste this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Excellent!! We hemorrhage through giardiniera....especially when I make Italian beef. This recipe is fantastic...I opted to make 1 jar using diced veges and the other chopping (via processor) and making a "relish" which I use for pretty much anything from tuna salad to a bratwurst topping (I like the relish best). Hubby thought that this was great because it contained all ingredients from the garden (aside from the vinegar and oil). I used 11 jalapeno's and it wasn't overly hot...just the right bite. Thank you so much Phonetek....I will use this often!! 10+ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. We end up eating most of it before the second day! The first time I made it however it was definitely HOT - I have found one to two jalapenos to be plenty. It is excellent with pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States