Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Phonetex - YOU ROCK! I'm born and raised in Chicago but have relocated in the past 7 years and desperately miss my Chicago comfort foods. I have not found "quality" hot giardiniera since I left home. I've even resorted to having some Chicago style restaurants ship me their giardiniera but I honestly have to say that this recipe tops the best of the giardiniera I've ever tasted! It's not drenched in oil the way they are and it's SUPER flavorful. I'm not even through the 2-day waiting period and can't keep my head out of the bowl. I made the recipe exactly as stated except I cut the veggie's bigger (like back home) and doubled the olives (since that was always my favorite part of giardiniera. I love hot food and this was perfectly spicy following the recipe. I won't increase the heat in the next batch. I wish I knew how long this particular recipe will last. I canned it in several jars and hope this will help preserve it. I will NEVER buy pre-made stuff again! This is AWESOME!!! Thank you! UPDATE: I just found this blurb from a site called foodsafety.com. I guess unless you can eat this in 10 days...you're taking chances. Can the Italian condiment, Giardiniera, be made at home? Rating: 42 No. The Italian condiment, Giardiniera, CANNOT be made safely at home. This mixture of raw, hot peppers and vegetables in an oil base can support the growth of Clostridium botulinum. Therefore low-acid foods, such as vegetables, that are mixed with oil must be kept refrigerate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanD112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I didn't like the olive oil in this as it solidifies when refrigerated, next time I am going to just use water with the vinegar, any other suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This recipe is awesome! My husband and I are avid spicy eaters, and I thought I would try a recipe like this. The first time I made this (1 month ago) I made 20 servings and only have 1/2 a pint jar left! I just finished draining the veggies again for another wonderful batch that serves 40. When I first found this recipe, and read the reviews, someone mentioned about making more and giving them a "hot water bath", which I am assuming is for canning and storing. I would like to do the same, but I don't know if the giardiniera has to be warm when I put it in jars for the hot water bath. Can anyone help me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Wow is this stuff good! This is some of the best Giardiniera I have EVER had! It takes two days but boy is it worth the wait! I used almost everything out of my garden and I couldn't get over the flavor of this. I ended up making several quarts and canning it. I use it on tons of stuff or eat it right out of the jar. EXCELLENT! THIS STUFF ROCKS! THANKS PHONETEK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
fantastic!!! fantastic!! fantastic!!! I love being able to take advantage of the veggies I have on hand...sometimes I have more celery available, sometimes I have several types of peppers to use up...this recipe will allow to change up the ingredients as needed. Although I do have a question...in the event that this lasts in the house for more than a couple of days...does anyone know how long this will keep?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Excellent, versatile recipe! I made this only 24 hours ago and I've been snacking on it, already. I love giardiniera, but when I purchase the hot version in the supermarket, it doesn't always have enough of the veggies that I like. This recipe solves THAT problem! I like to eat giardiniera as a snack or serve as an appetizer, so I cut the veggies into bite-size chunks. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. Next time I will add fresh, whole mushrooms. And, since this made a gallon size jar of veggies, I'm going to process some of this batch in jars in a hot water bath to preserve some for future snacking. Thank you, so much, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe! I opted for 15 serrano chiles instead of the jalapenos because their smaller size(closer to the size of my diced veggies) and their a little hotter. I also added a little more of each veggie than was called for. I love spicy AND flavorful things and this is great. Just the right amount of heat. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdca5033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Not bad if you want something to top a sausage or w/e the next day. However, this is not real (especially, Chicago style) giardiniera. Giardiniera uses serrano peppers (~ 1 lb. for this recipe size) with no green/red peppers (although you can add red for color). There is also no garlic, onions nor pimentos (other than maybe for color). Vinegar is often not used, but can be...but at a lower ratio than oil (I prefer olive over standardized canola)...and it's not mixed. Once you've combined the seasoning w/veggies and olives, place into jars, add a little vinegar if you want it, then top off with oil. Let is sit for a few days, and the flavor will rock your socks. The longer it sits, the better it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Heavenly. As a vegan treat for me, my sweet brother-in-law, Chaz the Chef, heated this for me in the microvave on a whole wheat bun, with a little of the juice soaked into the bun. No cheese, just hot vegetables on soft bread. mmmmm... Heaven on a bun...it's addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCountant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I am forever done "buying" giardiniera. Thanks to this delicious recipes. I've already made my third batch in 3 weeks. This is really really good. I like that you can add different types of vegetables. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heilbronn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States