Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was delicious. I had never heard of giardiniera before, but needed some for a recipe so I decided to make my own. I used what was left just for snacking and also on some ham sandwiches - it was awesome! It takes some work but I'd definitely make it again. I need to learn how to preserve as the batch was huge for just my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
You can eat this alone... My batch didn't last very long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My family loved this recipe. Served with flank steak cooked in crookpot on sub rolls with cheese. So good. I only had three peppers, orange, red and yellow so I increased the amount of cauliflower and it turned out great. My guys eat this on their sandwiches too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This recipe is great .Iv"e been looking for something like this for a long time.I added a couple pablano chile's 6 serrano peppers and a couple habanero's.I should also note that I quadrupled the size of the recipe. It made about 10 quarts.Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daddyo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Best giardinera that I've ever had...super easy to make. The only downfall was that by two days time, half of it was gone! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyCrocker
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made a huge 3 gallon batch and it only lasted two weeks.. so I am making more! Only change is I used water instead of the oil because I am not fond of the oil/vinegar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOFDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Use Soyebean oil - dosen't congeale in fridge - I eat about a gal a month mixed with grated parmagiano reggiano (can't spell but tastes great)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Made this for a bunch of full-blooded Italians from Chicago......They LOVED it! Added more cauliflower....that's the only change. It is the best giardiniera I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Wow! Not even 48 hours marinating and the heavens opened up and smiled upon me. This recipe is beyond fabulous! We added mushrooms and used 4 serrano's and 4 jalapeno's. If you like spicy use all serrano. Used 1 and 1/4 vinegar and 3/4 oil, will do 1 and 1/2 vinegar and 1/2 oil next time. Also added about 3 Tbs of pepperoncini juice. This is coming from a family who would never have considered any of these veggies in the raw. Try on whole wheat toasted Italian bread for a snack too. Can't wait to try it tomorrow when it hits the 48 hour mark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
OH MY GOODNESS!!!!! I can't believe how freak'in good this is!!! Made a batch to accompany Italian beef sandwiches (by Dick Pierce). Absolutely fantastic :) I followed PHONETEK's directions almost to a T, but had to improvise a bit.... The green bell peppers I purchased turned soft before I had a chance to prep them, so I omitted them alltogether, but upped the amount of celery & cauliflower. My bf said that I added too much cauliflower (oh well...)! I didn't think true giardiniera contained green bell peppers, but I looked at a jar at the grocery store, and, to my surprise, it does! I'll be sure to use them next time :) For a little fun, I used my PC crinkle cutter to cut the carrots. My only other change was to add a bit of olive juice to the EVOO/vinegar mix (maybe 2 T...). My guests were very impressed! I can't wait to sample this after it has "stewed" a bit longer. I served it a day premature due to lack of time to prepare it in advance as directed. I am going to add this to my "keeper" file. I am also going to share some (this makes a LOT) with my parents and my bf's parents. They'll love it! Thx. for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States