Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I make this all the time, and love it so much. It's healthy and it truely is the bomb. I've tried some that's sold on-line, but this is right up there with the more expensive stuff available. I also enjoy making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Not that this recipe needs another person to attest to how good it is, but I just had to leave a review! Grew up with homemade Italian Giardiniera and when my mom could not find her recipe, I used this one to satisfy a crazy pregnancy craving. I think it is better than my moms. Don't use any oil if you plan to can it, because of the risk of botulism, but you could always add oil once you open a sealed jar and keep it in the fridge. I don't think it will last long enough to see the inside of a sandwich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This recipe is just awesome!!! I used 1/2 of the jalapenos, because I'm giving some away to sensitive pallets. I used soybean oil instead of olive on another reviewer's advice and viola! It did not congeal in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was delicious. I had never heard of giardiniera before, but needed some for a recipe so I decided to make my own. I used what was left just for snacking and also on some ham sandwiches - it was awesome! It takes some work but I'd definitely make it again. I need to learn how to preserve as the batch was huge for just my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
You can eat this alone... My batch didn't last very long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My family loved this recipe. Served with flank steak cooked in crookpot on sub rolls with cheese. So good. I only had three peppers, orange, red and yellow so I increased the amount of cauliflower and it turned out great. My guys eat this on their sandwiches too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This recipe is great .Iv"e been looking for something like this for a long time.I added a couple pablano chile's 6 serrano peppers and a couple habanero's.I should also note that I quadrupled the size of the recipe. It made about 10 quarts.Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daddyo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Best giardinera that I've ever had...super easy to make. The only downfall was that by two days time, half of it was gone! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyCrocker
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made a huge 3 gallon batch and it only lasted two weeks.. so I am making more! Only change is I used water instead of the oil because I am not fond of the oil/vinegar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOFDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Use Soyebean oil - dosen't congeale in fridge - I eat about a gal a month mixed with grated parmagiano reggiano (can't spell but tastes great)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States