Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Made a batch of this again for about the millionth time. This time I figured I would add some broccoli along with the rest of the ingredients just to see how it turns out. Left out the olives because I don't really care for that "briney" flavor to interfere with the fresh veggies. Will report back in 2 days with the broccoli results, if I can keep my hands out of the bowl for that long... -UPDATE- After the 2 days I tried the giardiniera which was great as always but the broccoli will get left out from now on. The florets held too much vinegar in them and the flavor was just a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoke and Heat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I used half canola and olive oil. The vegetable got cooked when I pressure cook them to seal the jars. Not very crunchy but still the taste was wonderful! I will make it more spicier the next time. We gave some of them as a Christmas gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onthego4
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this! We put this on everything: pizza, sandwiches, subs, cold pasta salad. I always wind up eating a couple vegetables before it's ready. It's delicious and you can add/delete the veggies as per your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I was really wanting some giardiniera and decided to try this recipe since it was so highly rated. I am well pleased with this recipe. I made some changes to the recipe to suit my taste. I omitted the cauliflower and green olives since I am not a fan of either and added an extra stalk of celery. I also used 6 serrano peppers in place of the jalapenos, but I think I might add more the next time I make it. I too couldn't wait the 2 days to eat it. A few hours after I had put it in the fridge, I decided to try it. I was hooked with the first bite! Much better than the stuff you get at the store. And it's healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
My husband made this and loved it. My only question is, how long does it keep? I've seen any where from 2 weeks to 3 months to a year! Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
WOW! Can't say enough about this recipe. Out of this world flavor, easy to make, and puts the stuff in the supermarkets to shame. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHoTai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Wonderful!! Since I discovered this recipe a month or so ago, I've made 3 batches and can't seem to live without it. I cut the amount of salt down a bit and only put in 2 jalapeno peppers because I like the flavor but not so much heat but it's a great recipe. I like to take it in my lunch, snack on it, have put it on homemade pizza, and am looking forward to making Italian beef for sandwiches to have it on... If only I could find Gonnella bread here in Indianapolis...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Best ever, greetings from Denmark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This recipe is awesome! This is the second time around using this recipe. I double everything and water bath can the giardiniera. I give it as part of baskets for Christmas!! Everyone loves this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal. I am from Chicago and like my Giardiniera HOT! This recipe tastes so fresh that I eat it with a spoon. I put it on top of everything. Awesome!!! I did not use cawliflower because I didn't have any. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Not quite hot enough for me so next time I will add all the hot pepper seeds. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci bakopoulos
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States