Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Most of it is awsome, but if it is supposed to be "italian" giardiniera it should have pepperoncini NOT jalapenos. Flavor was great once I made that switch, I too omited the oil as it just made it greasy. I made a tripple batch to can and just let the veggies cook while they were boiling to seal the jars. I strongly suggest the pepper replacment for authenticity but the rest was of the recepie was nice if not intended for canning and you like the oily feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I have made this 2x and absolutly love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I add more cauliflower and carrots because everyone seems to pick them out to eat. I also use less hot peppers. Great chopped up on roast beef sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I did this totally different. I don't like to rate something that I changed so much but some folks may want to try this version. I just took the veggies without soaking them in salt and fried them in a little olive oil. Added 1 serrano pepper and 6 jalapenos. Didn't add all the oil, no vinegar and no olives. Like I said, I didn't make this as written and fried instead of pickled. Boy was it ever good on the Italian beef sandwiches from this site. Everyone was raving at my party! What great flavors!! I know this would be great made as is, but I wanted a healthier version and I didn't think too many people would have eaten it if I hadn't done it this way but what is so great about this website is the many ideas for a recipe you can get to make it the way you know you will like. Thanks for letting me share. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used tarragon vinegar. It's not as bitter and the only vinegar I use. It's a popular brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Made a batch of this again for about the millionth time. This time I figured I would add some broccoli along with the rest of the ingredients just to see how it turns out. Left out the olives because I don't really care for that "briney" flavor to interfere with the fresh veggies. Will report back in 2 days with the broccoli results, if I can keep my hands out of the bowl for that long... -UPDATE- After the 2 days I tried the giardiniera which was great as always but the broccoli will get left out from now on. The florets held too much vinegar in them and the flavor was just a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoke and Heat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I used half canola and olive oil. The vegetable got cooked when I pressure cook them to seal the jars. Not very crunchy but still the taste was wonderful! I will make it more spicier the next time. We gave some of them as a Christmas gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onthego4
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this! We put this on everything: pizza, sandwiches, subs, cold pasta salad. I always wind up eating a couple vegetables before it's ready. It's delicious and you can add/delete the veggies as per your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I was really wanting some giardiniera and decided to try this recipe since it was so highly rated. I am well pleased with this recipe. I made some changes to the recipe to suit my taste. I omitted the cauliflower and green olives since I am not a fan of either and added an extra stalk of celery. I also used 6 serrano peppers in place of the jalapenos, but I think I might add more the next time I make it. I too couldn't wait the 2 days to eat it. A few hours after I had put it in the fridge, I decided to try it. I was hooked with the first bite! Much better than the stuff you get at the store. And it's healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
My husband made this and loved it. My only question is, how long does it keep? I've seen any where from 2 weeks to 3 months to a year! Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States