Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
An excellent recipe! I made this as directed. My husband who is from Chicago, said that this was far "more flavorful", than the giardiniera that you get from that famous place that sells it in his hometown. We ate this with the Slow Cooker Italian Beef, another excellent recipe that is on this website
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Soooooo delicious! Good on everything, I can't even bear to look at store-bought giardiniera! Optional to tone down the jalapenos to 6 or 4. Serrano chiles also work very well. Please note that they have the same hotness factor as jalapenos, so don't let the small size fool you. I also added more cauliflower, as that is a favorite. Thank you PHONETEK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I love this dish!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Best ever Giardiniera, looking all over for this being from Chicago I need this here in Ireland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was spectacular! It was worth the wait! The longer it sits the better it is. This IS Chicago Style as you can get. Plenty of places use jalepeno in their giardiniera in Chicago however I won't say names on the site. This recipe is designed for the masses, not the lower of the two percentages that like to burn holes in their guts so if you like it mild use less peppers, if you like it hotter use more or hotter peppers....it's not rocket science. I had to defend this persons recipe because the few gripes people are putting are nit picky and ridiculous. This is the ONLY recipe at this time on this site and until anyone finds better they need to quit complaining. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Great recipe!! I played around with some of the ingredients more to my taste but overall it's simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Amazing!!! I too grew up in Chicago and this is one thing I always take back with me on visits. It does not last long. Next time I will use serranos and a bit less vinegar. I am in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Amazing! Thank you so much. If you enjoy Chicago style giardiniera then you will absolutely love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My son made this when he came to visit, and it was so good that it was gone in no time between my family and friends. I myself could not stop snacking on it with Italian bread, and on Chicago style Italian roast beef sandwiches. I had to make up another batch for myself. My husband just went out to get some more jalepenos, and he is going to do a batch leaving out the carrots, celery, and cauliflower , and using more of the hot peppers to make a super hot batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Berlin Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Not bad if you want something to top a sausage or w/e the next day. However, this is not real (especially, Chicago style) giardiniera. Giardiniera uses serrano peppers (~ 1 lb. for this recipe size) with no green/red peppers (although you can add red for color). There is also no garlic, onions nor pimentos (other than maybe for color). Vinegar is often not used, but can be...but at a lower ratio than oil (I prefer olive over standardized canola)...and it's not mixed. Once you've combined the seasoning w/veggies and olives, place into jars, add a little vinegar if you want it, then top off with oil. Let is sit for a few days, and the flavor will rock your socks. The longer it sits, the better it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States