Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This will be a staple in my house I'm sure. I keep telling my husband that it's not even ready yet (but I have secretly eaten half already).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I can't believe I made it through the past three days and finally got to taste this! It's indeed as great as everyone says! I used water instead of oil and I cut my veggies into big crudités-style chunks. The only issue is that they lost their crisp rigidity after the salt soak. I'd hoped it'd be restored after the vinegar soak, but it was not. However it wasn't a big deal and I wouldn't even have noticed had I cut smaller pieces as per the recipe. Update- If you do cauliflower in large chunks, like I just did, consider blanching them first. Otherwise they retain an unpleasing raw, almost rubbery texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I haven't tried this recipe yet but wanted to offer a suggestion to Daria Kilgore. (I had to rate it in order to post this suggestion and gave it 4 stars because olive oil will change texture when refrigerated) In place of the Olive Oil try Vegetable Oil for dishes you intend to refrigerate. It won't solidify like Olive Oil does ... just one of the many little tips I learned from my Italian mother. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Wow! Wow! Wow! This is a must try recipe! My husband and I are big on the city of Chicago and he says this is it! I have steered clear of the giardiniera when we visit because I hate anything that touches vinegar! I saw this recipe and decided to make it for my husband. Like any cook I tasted my food before I served it...it was delicious! I am sold! I think the longer it marinates in the frig the better the results. I soaked the veg on a Monday, performed the second step on Tuesday and I served it on Saturday! I served it hot and cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
An excellent recipe! I made this as directed. My husband who is from Chicago, said that this was far "more flavorful", than the giardiniera that you get from that famous place that sells it in his hometown. We ate this with the Slow Cooker Italian Beef, another excellent recipe that is on this website
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Soooooo delicious! Good on everything, I can't even bear to look at store-bought giardiniera! Optional to tone down the jalapenos to 6 or 4. Serrano chiles also work very well. Please note that they have the same hotness factor as jalapenos, so don't let the small size fool you. I also added more cauliflower, as that is a favorite. Thank you PHONETEK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I love this dish!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Best ever Giardiniera, looking all over for this being from Chicago I need this here in Ireland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was spectacular! It was worth the wait! The longer it sits the better it is. This IS Chicago Style as you can get. Plenty of places use jalepeno in their giardiniera in Chicago however I won't say names on the site. This recipe is designed for the masses, not the lower of the two percentages that like to burn holes in their guts so if you like it mild use less peppers, if you like it hotter use more or hotter peppers....it's not rocket science. I had to defend this persons recipe because the few gripes people are putting are nit picky and ridiculous. This is the ONLY recipe at this time on this site and until anyone finds better they need to quit complaining. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Great recipe!! I played around with some of the ingredients more to my taste but overall it's simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States