Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but it didn't work for us. The vinegar was overpowering and the olive oil does solidify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnwinke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
An excellent recipe! I can this recipe and as others mentioned, you should not use oil when canning, it acts as an insulator and may not kill any botulism cells present. I skip the oil and after you drain and rinse the vegetables, bring 4 c. vinegar, the garlic, red pepper flakes, black pepper and oregano to a boil. Add the vegetables and olives and heat through until just about to boil. Pack the vegetables and liquid in jars and process in a hot water bath for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Double the batch, it evaporates once you present an open jar to your guests. I wouldn't change a thing and I've made this five times in a three month period. Family and friends are asking for this in lieu of jams for Christmas food gifts. LOVE IT...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made it for the second time today--I am HOOKED on this recipe!! GREAT as a side dish OR on sandwiches--I especially like the cauliflower, and doubled up on it this time! I had to double up on the olive oil and vinegar to cover it... the vinegar and oil also makes an incredible salad dressing! Originally found this looking for a muffaletta recipe, and haven't even made that incredible sandwich yet! This is one fantastic recipe!! THANKS, PHONETECK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Over 3 years I've probably made 30 gallons of this wonderful recipe, experimenting with the liquids till I have a 50/50 mix of white vinegar and canola oil. Had a garden this year with jalapenos and Serranos that made the best batches of all. I use a food processor for everything but the cauliflower, incorporate it in a 5 gallon bucket and soak it overnight with about 1/2 pound salt. I like how the quart Mason jars look with all the red, green, yellow and orange colors. Makes a great gift and the taste is far better than any store bought. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maywood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I was raised in Chicago and now live in Michigan...I have never found ANYTHING like the real thing and wasn't sure how to make it on my own until now. Truth be told, I never tried...I just made sure to always have my Uncle make me a batch when we visited. I came across this recipe while trying to find something to do with the surplus of summer peppers and thought I'd give it a try. I'm in love! I've made 5 batches since the first so my mom and I always have some on hand. We use in on sandwiches, as salad dressing, on cottage cheese...and so on and so on ;-) I always make my family something home made for Christmas...any guesses what this year's gift will be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I loved this recipe! I live overseas and have bothered packing a jar of the store bought stuff, but I'll never have to again! I used a lot more cauliflower, celery, and carrots, and mixed poblano peppers with jalapeños. I used less oil, and it turned out fantastic. It was a hit at our family party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Great salad. Followed the recipe except subbed canola oil to prevent it from solidifying in the fridge. I also added a few black olives I needed to use up & a few spoons of pepperoncini. Next time I`ll brine in half the salt & use 1/3 of the oil but those are just personal preferences, the salad is great as is. Beautiful yummy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Magnificent. Stuck to the recipe, except for the jalapenos I removed the seeds from 2 and used only 6 total. I thought is was a nice hot at that much jalapeño and many of my guests thought it was too spicy. So, flavor was top notch, but my crowd would have preferred half the jalapeño. Love this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Excellent. Searched for a recipe to use on my home-made Italian Beef sangwiches! Loved it -just making my 2nd batch. I did add a teaspoon of celery seed to the dressing spices. Very versatile recipe to add in whatever vegis you have available, some zuchinni and summer squash worked well. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States