Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Whoa! This is wonderful! I cut my veggies a little larger and served it with still warm homemade pita chips and hummus. I misread the recipe and added too much cauliflower so the juice didn't cover all the veggies but the flavor was amazing. I just stirred it every day to marinate all of it. I also added the juice from the olive jar. I left the jalepenos in one piece, just slit them up the middle so my husband can eat them. Can't wait to try it on a lettuce salad with salami. YUM. I am anxious to hear how they are after canning - it is so colorful it would make great gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Wow, I made this to go on italian beef sandwiches, but I wasn't even sure I'd like it. What a pleasant surprise! It's a perfectly spicy, crunchy, fresh-tasting veggie topping that tastes exactly like what a good italian dressing would taste like if you could rehydrate all those little veggie flakes and eat it fresh! Amazing! I put it on italian beef, pasta, and all by itself, and it's all good. Right now I'm canning my leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I am forever done "buying" giardiniera. Thanks to this delicious recipes. I've already made my third batch in 3 weeks. This is really really good. I like that you can add different types of vegetables. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heilbronn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This is the best recipe I have found for Giardiniera, I just had to write and thank PHONETEK for this outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This got a great response from everyone I served it to at a party. I cut my pieces of vegetable into bigger chunks instead of dicing. It was really pretty that way. I forgot to buy the cauliflower, which really bummed me out, cause that is my favorite part. I cut back on the jalapenos because I worried about it being too spicy for the crowd I served. Next time I will put it the cauliflower...duh...and try it with more jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Heavenly. As a vegan treat for me, my sweet brother-in-law, Chaz the Chef, heated this for me in the microvave on a whole wheat bun, with a little of the juice soaked into the bun. No cheese, just hot vegetables on soft bread. mmmmm... Heaven on a bun...it's addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCountant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This recipe is simply the best! Versatile and usable on nearly any dish, try a couple of heaping spoonfuls on bow tie pasta for a quick meal. Visions of Nana with her gray bun pulled back, an apron covering her full breasts as she chopped and diced to create our giardiniera...the memories all come rushing back to me whenever I taste this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Excellent!! We hemorrhage through giardiniera....especially when I make Italian beef. This recipe is fantastic...I opted to make 1 jar using diced veges and the other chopping (via processor) and making a "relish" which I use for pretty much anything from tuna salad to a bratwurst topping (I like the relish best). Hubby thought that this was great because it contained all ingredients from the garden (aside from the vinegar and oil). I used 11 jalapeno's and it wasn't overly hot...just the right bite. Thank you so much Phonetek....I will use this often!! 10+ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
fantastic!!! fantastic!! fantastic!!! I love being able to take advantage of the veggies I have on hand...sometimes I have more celery available, sometimes I have several types of peppers to use up...this recipe will allow to change up the ingredients as needed. Although I do have a question...in the event that this lasts in the house for more than a couple of days...does anyone know how long this will keep?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe, it's just hard to wait 2-3 days before you can eat it. You can adjust any of the amounts of veggies to suit your tastes. I will try it with more hot peppers because I like it a little spicier. The 50/50 ratio of vinegar and oil seems a little less oily than the giardiniera you usually find in the store, but it has a nice refreshing taste. I usually just keep chopping chopping up more and more vegetables, and then mixing up as much of the "dressing" as it takes to cover everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States