Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. I've made it at least 5 times, varying a little each time. I sometimes add some hot pickled peppers and sub some of that pickle brine for the vinegar. We have been adding it to our tossed salad instead of salad dressing. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Hey Phonetek, GREAT recipie!!Being originally from the Chicago Burb's this is just what I was looking for!! Sorry for adjusting your recipie, but i used "sport peppers" which are Serrano peppers instead of the Jalapeno's. Also, I used a 60/40 mix of olive oil/vinegar.Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coach Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I have been using this gem of a recipe for 1 year now. I have also bottled it for my friends, nieghbors and co-workers as Christmas gifts. So far, everyone has loved it and keep asking for more. I have also substituded chiles/habaneros for jalapenos for an extra kick and added broccoli florets as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Thank you SO much for this recipe! I stumbled upon some giardiniera in the grocery store and became addicted to it. Then they discontinued it so now I'm making my own. Great base for any marinated veggies. Sometimes I do the veggies and just leave out the hot peppers and olives and it makes a lovely salad/relish to keep in the fridge when I'm not in the mood for hot or company has arrived that might not appreciate the heat.Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMPLELIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tripodious
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
So this is now my second time making this wonderful recipe. I still cut my veggies a bit larger for snacking. The first time while marinating the olive oil separated completely and was hard to mix properly unless I sat it out for a bit. This time instead of a simple wire whisk I actually blended the olive oil and vinegar together with a mixer, though a blender or immersion blender would work great. I also blended them first and THEN added that to the seasonings and olives, this kept all the pretty specks of color intact and there is very minimal separation of oil and vinegar/water. 24 hours to go and then it's ready... It's ready and delicious. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tripodious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Oh my!!!! This stuff is FANTASTIC! I eat it by itself and can only imagine how wonderful it will be on sandwiches and other food. I chopped my veggies larger, not diced. All I can say is FABULOUS! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3doxiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. We end up eating most of it before the second day! The first time I made it however it was definitely HOT - I have found one to two jalapenos to be plenty. It is excellent with pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I didn't like the olive oil in this as it solidifies when refrigerated, next time I am going to just use water with the vinegar, any other suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Phonetex - YOU ROCK! I'm born and raised in Chicago but have relocated in the past 7 years and desperately miss my Chicago comfort foods. I have not found "quality" hot giardiniera since I left home. I've even resorted to having some Chicago style restaurants ship me their giardiniera but I honestly have to say that this recipe tops the best of the giardiniera I've ever tasted! It's not drenched in oil the way they are and it's SUPER flavorful. I'm not even through the 2-day waiting period and can't keep my head out of the bowl. I made the recipe exactly as stated except I cut the veggie's bigger (like back home) and doubled the olives (since that was always my favorite part of giardiniera. I love hot food and this was perfectly spicy following the recipe. I won't increase the heat in the next batch. I wish I knew how long this particular recipe will last. I canned it in several jars and hope this will help preserve it. I will NEVER buy pre-made stuff again! This is AWESOME!!! Thank you! UPDATE: I just found this blurb from a site called foodsafety.com. I guess unless you can eat this in 10 days...you're taking chances. Can the Italian condiment, Giardiniera, be made at home? Rating: 42 No. The Italian condiment, Giardiniera, CANNOT be made safely at home. This mixture of raw, hot peppers and vegetables in an oil base can support the growth of Clostridium botulinum. Therefore low-acid foods, such as vegetables, that are mixed with oil must be kept refrigerate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This recipe is awesome! My husband and I are avid spicy eaters, and I thought I would try a recipe like this. The first time I made this (1 month ago) I made 20 servings and only have 1/2 a pint jar left! I just finished draining the veggies again for another wonderful batch that serves 40. When I first found this recipe, and read the reviews, someone mentioned about making more and giving them a "hot water bath", which I am assuming is for canning and storing. I would like to do the same, but I don't know if the giardiniera has to be warm when I put it in jars for the hot water bath. Can anyone help me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States