Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Best giardinera that I've ever had...super easy to make. The only downfall was that by two days time, half of it was gone! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyCrocker
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made a huge 3 gallon batch and it only lasted two weeks.. so I am making more! Only change is I used water instead of the oil because I am not fond of the oil/vinegar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOFDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Use Soyebean oil - dosen't congeale in fridge - I eat about a gal a month mixed with grated parmagiano reggiano (can't spell but tastes great)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Made this for a bunch of full-blooded Italians from Chicago......They LOVED it! Added more cauliflower....that's the only change. It is the best giardiniera I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Wow! Not even 48 hours marinating and the heavens opened up and smiled upon me. This recipe is beyond fabulous! We added mushrooms and used 4 serrano's and 4 jalapeno's. If you like spicy use all serrano. Used 1 and 1/4 vinegar and 3/4 oil, will do 1 and 1/2 vinegar and 1/2 oil next time. Also added about 3 Tbs of pepperoncini juice. This is coming from a family who would never have considered any of these veggies in the raw. Try on whole wheat toasted Italian bread for a snack too. Can't wait to try it tomorrow when it hits the 48 hour mark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
OH MY GOODNESS!!!!! I can't believe how freak'in good this is!!! Made a batch to accompany Italian beef sandwiches (by Dick Pierce). Absolutely fantastic :) I followed PHONETEK's directions almost to a T, but had to improvise a bit.... The green bell peppers I purchased turned soft before I had a chance to prep them, so I omitted them alltogether, but upped the amount of celery & cauliflower. My bf said that I added too much cauliflower (oh well...)! I didn't think true giardiniera contained green bell peppers, but I looked at a jar at the grocery store, and, to my surprise, it does! I'll be sure to use them next time :) For a little fun, I used my PC crinkle cutter to cut the carrots. My only other change was to add a bit of olive juice to the EVOO/vinegar mix (maybe 2 T...). My guests were very impressed! I can't wait to sample this after it has "stewed" a bit longer. I served it a day premature due to lack of time to prepare it in advance as directed. I am going to add this to my "keeper" file. I am also going to share some (this makes a LOT) with my parents and my bf's parents. They'll love it! Thx. for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was really good. The oil hardens in the fridge so I have to put some in a bowl and defrost it in the microwave in order to eat it. Tastes really good though. Made a good salad with it (green leaf lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, red onion, and feta with a precooked chicken breast) and added some French vinaigrette. Nice change to have a spicy, kicked up salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
this is THE BEST! I am so hooked on it!! The only change I made was that I used extra light olive oil for a lighter flavor and it is soooooo good! I'll never buy the store made stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pandafeathers

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I never heard of giardiniera before, but found this recipe while looking for a way to use up some veggies from a shower tray. This was awesome! I like it on a wrap with turkey pepperoni and provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Made this Giardiniera yesterday and I've been practically eating it with a spoon! I cut the recipe in half and made a few adjustments (no cauliflower, used a combo of Pinot Grigio Italian wine vinegar and Champagne vinegar to replace the plain white vinegar.) Better than anything I've had from the grocery store, as good as anything I've had on a Chicago style Italian Beef (and yes, I'm from Chicago). Now I'm wishing I hadn't cut the recipe in half, but I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States