Hot Honey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I love all the ingredients but somehow this didn't work for us. I kept all ingredients the same except I used boneless breasts cut into chunks and placed onto skewers. The flavor was lacking something. The chicken was ok and everyone ate it but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I like spicy as well as hot & spicy, but I wasn't very impressed with the flavor of this. I baked it in the oven b/c city ordinance no longer allows me to have a grill in an apt. so it may have been better if grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I thought this tasted a lot like the honey hot wings we order from a local joint. I used Franks hot sauce and honey. I thought the black pepper was a little strong and would probably cut that in half next time. I did mine on the grill which needs to be on low so the sugar in the honey doesn't burn. Easy to do and tasty. I saved a little of the sauce out for a dipping sauce when the chicken was finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was good! I cut up my chicken and sauted it with frozen broccoli and then added the sauce. I used Frank's and it was not at all vinagary! All of my kids ate it! Adding some garlic to it for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletochef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was excellent. Used chicken leg quarters and cooked on convection roast in the oven at 350 for about 45 minutes. Basted chicken with the sauce every 10 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I substituted Oriental Hot Chili Sauce I had on hand for the hot sauce, added a tablespoon of garlic powder -- fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I made the sauce mostly as it said. I ran out of honey so I used maple syrup to make up the difference. But the sauce is super spicy. I think cooked on the chicken it's less spicy. However I'd been sampling the sauce so much while cooking my taste buds burnt out by the time dinner came around. I simmered my leftover sauce and added some cumin, cilantro and a lot of onion and it made for a nice but very spicy sauce for my rice. My boyfriend loved the recipe as is, but next time I would try half as much hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Reading all the reviews, it becomes clear that the secret to this one is the hot sauce you use. Different sauces have different amounts of 'kick'. Some will bury the honey and some have no spice at all. When you give a review, please let us know the hot sauce you used, so we can gauge it against other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Al

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I do a recipe like this alot except i go easier on the honey and more of the red hot. I also add a little bit of cayenne and a little red pepper flakes. And i like to marinate it first if for breasts, not for wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Eehhhhhh. *shrug* I may try it with more honey if I try it again. But I probably won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

See how to grill sweet and savory chicken and veggie kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States